Frank Zappa - Best Band You Never Heard in Your Life (Live Recording) (Music CD)

Release Date: 29 October 2012
Artist: Frank Zappa
£7.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

This two-CD set is the second of three albums of material Frank Zappa compiled from the 1988 tour. While Broadway the Hard Way (released in 1988) mostly presented the new songs performed during that tour, this set focuses on older songs (Make a Jazz Noise Here would contain mostly instrumental pieces). This is the best band you never heard in your life because the 12-piece group disintegrated after only four months of touring through the U.S. East Coast and Europe. These shows took place during the Jimmy Swaggart scandal, when the televangelist was caught with a prostitute. Thus, many of the songs' lyrics were rewritten to refer to this situation (the whole 1988 tour was strongly anti-preacher oriented). There are a lot of strong performances of old favorites and obscurities, all rearranged to include the horn section, and a few improbable covers. Highlights include Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire" (hilarious), the unexpected "Who Needs the Peace Corps?," "Mr. Green Genes," and "The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue," and an extended rendition of "The Torture Never Stops" that includes the theme from the TV show Bonanza and a Swaggart version of "Lonesome Cowboy Burt." To top it all off, the group performs a very entertaining reggae version of Led Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven." This band was incredibly talented and professional, and the selection of songs spans Zappa's entire career. In short, this is one of the man's best live albums. ~ François Couture
Release Date: 29 October 2012
Artist: Frank Zappa

1. Heavy Duty Judy
2. Ring Of Fire
3. Cosmik Debris
4. Find Her Finer
5. Who Needs The Peace Corps?
6. I Left My Heart In San Francisco
7. Zomby Woof
8. Bolero
9. Zoot Allures
10. Mr. Green Genes
11. Florentine Pogen
12. Andy
13. Inca Roads
14. Sofa #1
15. Purple Haze 2
16. Sunshine Of Your Love
17. Let’s Move To Cleveland
18. When Irish Eyes Are Smiling
19. “Godfather Part II” Theme
20. A Few Moments With Brother A. West
21. The Torture Never Stops Part One
22. Theme From “Bonanza”
23. Lonesome Cowboy Burt (Swaggart Version)
24. The Torture Never Stops, Pt. 2
25. More Trouble Every Day (Swaggart Version)
26. Penguin In Bondage (Swaggart Version)
27. The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue 9:18
28. Stairway To Heaven

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 0238812