Frank Zappa - Make a Jazz Noise Here (Live Recording) (Music CD)

Release Date: 29 October 2012
Artist: Frank Zappa
£9.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The third and final live album put together from recordings of Frank Zappa's 1988 concerts, the two-CD set Make a Jazz Noise Here focuses on the composer's instrumental pieces -- which are not necessarily jazzy, by the way. As for the three vocal tracks included ("Stinkfoot," "Stevie's Spanking," and "Advance Romance"), they all feature interesting solos. The set presents old favorites, like the medley "Let's Make the Water Turn Black"/"Harry, You're a Beast," "King Kong," and "The Black Page." They are well-performed, but considering the number of versions of each of them available on other recordings, they hardly constitute the main interest of this album. Zappa included more obscure tracks. Some of them had not been performed on-stage for quite a long time. Of these, "Big Swifty," "T'Mershi Duween," "Dupree's Paradise," and "Eat That Question" all turn into memorable moments. Scattered throughout the album, listeners also find a few newer compositions, some more spontaneous than others. "Fire and Chains," "When Yuppies Go to Hell," and "Star Wars Won't Work" don't represent key pieces in Zappa's works, but they add an element of surprise to the whole. Make a Jazz Noise Here contains very little stage antics and inside jokes; it concentrates on virtuoso performances of some of Zappa's best instrumental tunes. ~ François Couture

More Detail

1. Stinkfoot
2. When Yuppies Go To Hell
3. Fire And Chains
4. Let’s Make The Water Turn Black
5. Harry, You're A Beast
6. The Orange County Lumber Truck
7. Oh No
8. Theme From Lumpy Gravy
9. Eat That Question
10. Black Napkins
11. Big Swifty
12. King Kong
13. Star Wars Won’t Work
14. The Black Page (New Age Version)
15. T’Mershi Duween
16. Dupree’s Paradise
17. City Of Tiny Lights
18. Royal March From “L’Histoire Du Soldat”
19. Theme From The Bartok Piano Concerto #3
20. Sinister Footwear 2nd mvt.
21. Stevie’s Spanking
22. Alien Orifice
23. Cruisin’ For Burgers
24. Advance Romance
25. Strictly Genteel

Release Date: 29 October 2012
Artist: Frank Zappa
SKU: 0238832