Hawkwind - Hawkwind (Remastered) (Music CD)

Release Date: 20 August 2001
Artist: Hawkwind
£6.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

RRP: £7.99. You Save: £1.60

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Over the course of the 1970s, British freaks Hawkwind came to be known as the ultimate space-rock band, with trippy, science-fiction-themed songs full of far-out electronic effects. Their first album, though, released at the tail end of the hippie era, finds them still hanging onto vestiges of both psychedelia and even folk-rock. "Hurry on Sundown", an acoustic strumfest left over from leader Dave Brock's busking days, is as far as one can imagine from the Hawkwind that fans would come to know. The rest of the record, extended improvisations built around simple, riff-based structures, sounds like a lysergically enhanced collision between Can and contemporaneous Pink Floyd. While all the electronic bells and whistles had yet to be firmly affixed to the Hawkwind spaceship, the mindset of these cosmic warriors was already very clearly focused on the farthest reaches of the galaxy.

More Detail

1. Hurry On Sundown
2. Reason Is
3. Be Yourself
4. Paranoia (part 1)
5. Paranoia (part 2)
6. Seeing It As You Really Are
7. Mirror Of Illusion
8. Bring It On Home (bonus track)
9. Hurry On Sundown (bonus track)
10. Kiss Of The Velvet Whip (bonus track)
11. Cymbaline (bonus track)

Release Date: 20 August 2001
Artist: Hawkwind
SKU: 5300282