Hawkwind - It Is the Business of the Future to Be Dangerous (Music CD)

Release Date: 30 January 2012
Artist: Hawkwind
£11.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

It may or may not be the business of the future to be dangerous, but it certainly is the business of Hawkwind to do the unexpected on this album. This disc seems to be the group's effort to merge trance/ambient/techno sounds with that of the space rock that they pioneered. The resulting CD is a bit sleepy, but does have its moments. "Space Is Their (Palestine)" has segments that feel a bit like Kraftwerk covering Hassan I Shaba (aka Assassins of Allah). However, at over 11 minutes those moments are stretched a bit thin. "Let Sleeping Dogs Lie" is a harder-edged cut that comes closer to Hawkwind's more typical sound, but it still feels a bit off of its mark. A highlight of the disc is "Wave Upon Wave," which has a great proggy, atmospheric texture. The track "Letting in the Past" is a truly Hawkwind space rock number based on "Hurry on Sundown." The group also tries to break some new progish territory with "Techno Tropic Zone," a cut that seems to combine the weirdness of a piece like "Sonic Attack" with those other elements. The group also puts in a unique covering of the Rolling Stones' "Gimme Shelter." This disc certainly will not go down as one of their best, but for those with a taste for the unusual it should be entertaining. ~ Gary Hill
Release Date: 30 January 2012
Artist: Hawkwind

1. It Is The Business Of The Future To Be Dangerous
2. Space Is Their (Palestine)
3. Tibet Is Not China (part 1)
4. Tibet Is Not China (part 2)
5. Let Barking Dogs Lie
6. Wave Upon Wave
7. Letting In The Past
8. The Camera That Could Lie
9. 3 or 4 Erections In The Course of a Night
10. Techno Tropic Zone Exists
11. Gimme Shelter
12. Avante
13. Gimme Shelter
14. Spirit of the Age (radio edit/Bonus Track)
15. Spirit of the Age
16. Spirit of the Age
17. Spirit of the Age
18. Right to Decide (original mix/Bonus Track)
19. The Camera That Would Not Die (original mix/Bonus Track)
20. Right to Decide (Alien Prophets radio edit mix/Bonus Track)
21. Assisin (Magick Carpet mix by Swordfish/Astralasia/Bonus Track)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: ATOMCD21032