Horace Silver - Three Classic Albums [Remastered] (Music CD)

Release Date: 01 September 2011
£10.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Real Tyme Jazz licenses three prime period Horace Silver recordings and places them on two CDs, all of them cut originally for Blue Note and containing seminal compositions by the pianist. Two of these albums -- the bookend ones -- can genuinely be referred to as "classics." First up is 6 Pieces of Silver, from 1956 (Blue Note 1539). The band here consists of Silver on piano with Hank Mobley and Junior Cook on tenor saxophones, Donald Byrd on trumpet, Doug Watkins or Gene Taylor on bass, and Louis Hayes in the drum chair. While all of the tunes here are worth their hard bop weight in gold, it is the funky "Señor Blues" that has endured best and first put Silver on the map as a composer. The Stylings of Silver (originally Blue Note 1562) is the least important record in the set, though it is enjoyable throughout. The pianist was once again backed by Mobley on tenor, with trumpeter Art Farmer, bassist Teddy Kotick, and Hayes returning on drums. The standout tune here is "Soulville." Finally, Horace-Scope, which was issued in 1960 as Blue Note 4042, featured Silver's hot quintet with trumpeter Blue Mitchell, Taylor on bass, drummer Roy Brooks, and Cook on tenor. The two stellar cuts here are "Nica's Dream" (a Silver standard that was a few years old at the time of this recording) and the now-standard "Strollin'." This box is only for those who haven't picked up the originals. The irritants are that The Stylings of Silver is split onto two discs and these versions appear as the albums did, lacking the bonus tracks of the various American Blue Note editions. ~ Thom Jurek

More Detail

1. Cool Eyes
2. Shirl
3. Camouflage
4. Enchantment
5. Señor Blues
6. Virgo
7. For Heaven's Sake
8. No Smokin'
9. The Back Beat
10. Soulville
11. Home Cookin'
12. Metamorphosis
13. My One and Only Love
14. Strollin'
15. Where You At
16. Without You
17. Horace-Scope
18. Yeah
19. Me and My Baby
20. Nica's Dream

Release Date: 01 September 2011
Catalogue No: RGJCD250