Janis Ian - Live (Working Without a Net/Live Recording) (Music CD)

Release Date: 27 February 2012
Artist: Janis Ian
£8.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

With no more than a guitar and a song, Janis Ian's live set probably strikes the average listener as typical folk music. Technically speaking, however, Ian arrived on the scene just as the folk revival was burning out in the mid-'60s, and she can more properly be seen as a singer/songwriter. Some confusion undoubtedly existed thanks to "Society's Child," a socially conscious piece about an interracial couple that was originally recorded for the politically astute Broadside. Ian's vision has always combined the personal with the political, though, and there's probably no better place to enjoy an overview of her work than on Live: Working Without a Net. Spread out over two discs, the live set includes a healthy list of songs old and new, and plenty of in-between chatter to add a personal touch. In an acoustic setting, "Society's Child" sounds much closer to its original incarnation on Broadside than the recording that became a hit in 1966. She revisits the poignant "Jesse" from the early '70s, delivers a fine version of "At Seventeen," and offers good takes on recent favorites like "Breaking Silence." Ian still retains the vocal quiver that makes these emotionally bare songs so personal, rendering them much more real than even typical singer/songwriter material. In case this all sounds a bit serious, or the type of music that only sensitive women would enjoy, one needs to stick around for Ian's ad-libbed version of "These Boots Are Made for Walking." Live: Working Without a Net probably lacks the sharpness of many of Ian's studio efforts, but will be warmly welcomed by longtime fans. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.
Release Date: 27 February 2012
Artist: Janis Ian

1. This Train Still Runs
2. Fly Too High
3. Intro: We Love You
4. Take Me Walking In the Rain
5. Jesse
6. Paris In Your Eyes
7. Ride Me Like a Wave
8. Love Is Blind
9. Intro: Vote For Me
10. Boots Like Emmylou's
11. Days Like These
12. Society's Child
13. Intro: My Pal Tiffany
14. Between the Lines
15. Intro: How Lucky I Am
16. Take No Prisoners
17. Intro: Has Been at 19
18. Stars
19. Will You Dance?
20. Honor Them All
21. Intro: Moving Back Home
22. At Seventeen
23. Cosmopolitan Girl
24. Tattoo
25. Watercolors
26. Breaking Silence
27. Berlin
28. Silly Habits
29. In the Winter
30. Intro: Kumbaya
31. These Boots Were Made for Walking

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSD2065