Jeffrey Osborne - Only Human (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 July 2012
£8.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

After such George Duke-produced R&B/pop hits on A&M as "On the Wings of Love" and "The Borderlines," Jeffrey Osborne's Arista debut, Only Human, was a return to more R&B-oriented material. Wisely, the LP's first single showcased Osborne's special way with a ballad. Produced by Barry J. Eastmond (Freddie Jackson), the halting, dusky "Only Human" was a Top Three R&B smash in late 1990. The singer shows his social consciousness side on the chugging "If My Brother's in Trouble," which was produced by Shep Pettibone and made it to number 11 R&B in the spring of 1991. The Osborne co-written ballad "The Morning After I Made Love to You" (also produced by Eastmond) at times generates the kind of shivers generated by some of his classics with L.T.D.. It was the album's third hit single, going to number 24 in the summer of 1991. There are successful flirtations with hip-hop on "Baby Wait a Minute" and a cover of the Roberta Flack hit "Feel Like Making Love" co-produced by Robert Brookins. While it could be argued that Osborne's A&M albums were generally "too pop," he seems absolutely regenerated on Only Human, digging his vocal chops into material that accommodates his extensive range. It's a head-scratcher as to why this is his only Arista release (one of his other sides for the label was the tasty Dionne Warwick duet "Love Power"); it would have been very interesting to hear Osborne continue in this mode. Some of the album's tracks are on the Hip-O CDs Love Songs, Ultimate Collection, and More of My Best. ~ Ed Hogan

More Detail

  • 1. If My Brother's In Trouble
  • 2. Only Human
  • 3. Good Things Come to Those Who Wait
  • 4. The Morning After I Made Love to You
  • 5. Lay Your Head
  • 6. Baby Wait a Minute
  • 7. Sending a Love Song
  • 8. Feel Like Making Love
  • 9. Back In Your Arms
  • 10. Nitetime
  • 11. Getting Better All the Time
  • 12. If My Brother's in Trouble (Arista UK Extended Hip Hop Mix/Bonus Track)
  • 13. If My Brother's in Trouble (Arista US Dub Mix #1/Bonus Track)
  • 14. If My Brother's in Trouble (Arista UK Club Mix/Bonus Track)
  • 15. Only Human (Arista US 7" Single Version/Bonus Track)
  • 16. Never
Release Date: 16 July 2012
Catalogue No: SMCR5061