Jesper Thilo - Jesper Thilo and the American Stars, Vol. 1 (Music CD)

Release Date: 13 February 2012
Artist: Jesper Thilo
£17.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £3.99
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This excellent sampler features the Zoot Sims-influenced Danish saxophonist Jesper Thilo on previously released performances taken from five LPs recorded during 1980-1987. Thilo is heard in a quintet with flügelhornist Clark Terry and pianist Kenny Drew (their version of Ben Webster's "Did You Call Her Today" is a delight), leading a quartet with Drew and drummer Billy Hart, jamming in a sextet with trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison, interacting with pianist Roland Hanna in a quartet, and co-leading a quintet with trombonist Al Grey. In each setting, Thilo holds his own with the better-known Americans, jamming music that falls between swing and bebop. Terry, Edison, and Grey are all fun to hear as usual, since they not only swing hard but are witty improvisers. It would be preferable to have the complete sessions and hopefully they will be reissued on CD eventually, but this sampler will suffice in the meantime, serving as an introduction to the playing of Jesper Thilo. ~ Scott Yanow

More Detail

1. Did You Call Her Today?
2. My Romance
3. Just One of Those Things
4. Save Your Love For Me
5. Cherokee
6. On the Trail
7. Like Someone In Love
8. Old Folks
9. Stella By Starlight
10. God Bless the Child
11. On the Sunny Side of the Street
12. Cotton Tail
13. Star Dust
14. Body and Soul
15. Rose Room
16. Wave
17. You Stepped Out of a Dream
18. Blue and Sentimental
19. Sweets To My Sweet
20. Now and Then Blues
21. Cherokee
22. Seque In C
23. A Night In Tunisia
24. I'm Hungry Sabrina
25. The Girl From Impanema
26. Sunday
27. Frog Eyes
28. Mumbles
29. This Time Its For Real
30. Star Eyes
31. Body and Soul
32. Just Jazz
33. The Vanguard Groove
34. There Will Never Be Another You
35. Medley: Lover Man/Embraceable You
36. Satin Doll
37. Sophisticated Lady
38. Ballad For Jesper

Release Date: 13 February 2012
Artist: Jesper Thilo
Catalogue No: STC1048427