Jesus and Mary Chain (The) - Stoned & Dethroned (+DVD)

Release Date: 03 October 2011
£14.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Having made a name for itself through its career for punishing noise combined with candy-coated hooks, the Jesus and Mary Chain took a sideways step on Stoned & Dethroned that actually worked rather handsomely. The Reids turned the emphasis toward much calmer, acoustic folk/country-tinged songs and, for the first time since Psychocandy, recorded with an actual full band, with Monti from Curve once again doing the drum honors and touring bassist Ben Lurie handling the same duties in studio. The appearance of Hope Sandoval on lead single "Sometimes Always" makes perfect sense, as Mazzy Star's electric/acoustic psych flow is, if not the inspiration for Stoned & Dethroned, a close enough cousin. "Sometimes Always" does indeed make for a lovely little duet, not quite a Lee & Nancy combination for a new generation, but a fine romp anyway, while on the other guest number Shane Macgowan from the Pogues takes a nicely mournful lead turn on "God Help Me." As for the album in general, the songs are much more than simply a toned-down Mary Chain -- it's almost as if the group were making its bid to finally demonstrate that it really was comprised of actual musicians, honest to goodness. What feedback there is appears as smoky atmosphere rather than skull-crushing scream, and oddly enough the end results almost suggest early-'70s Rolling Stones more than anything else, tinged as always with pure pop hooks and melodies. William's singing actually comes more to the fore than before, his warmer, less sneering vocals suiting the burned-out feeling of the album very nicely. A few songs could easily be full-on monsters -- the brief "Come On" and the almost uplifting "Girlfriend" in particular -- but, by and large, the drama is implicit rather than explicit. ~ Ned Raggett
Release Date: 03 October 2011

1. Dirty Water
2. Bullet Lovers
3. Sometimes Always
4. Come On
5. Between Us
6. Hole
7. Never Saw it Coming
8. She
9. Wish I Could
10. Save Me
11. Till it Shines
12. God Help Me
13. Girlfriend
14. Everybody I Know
15. You've Been a Friend
16. These Days
17. Feeling Lucky
18. Snakedriver
19. Something I Can't Have
20. Write Record Release Blues
21. Little Red Rooster
22. Come On (BBC Radio Session)
23. God Help Me (BBC Radio Session)
24. Everybody I Know (BBC Radio Session)
25. The Perfect Crime (BBC Radio Session)
26. Till I Found You (Outtake)
27. Dirty Water (William Vocal/Demo)
28. God Help Me (Alternate Vocal Take/Demo)
29. The Perfect Crime
30. Little Stars
31. Drop
32. I'm in With the Out Crowd
33. New York City
34. Taking it Away
35. Ghost of a Smile
36. Alphabet Street
37. New Kind of Kick
38. Come On
39. Reverence (Live)
40. Snakedriver (Live)
41. Come On (Live)
42. Happy When it Rains (Live)
43. Teenage Lust (Live)
44. The Perfect Crime (Live)
45. Everybody I Know (Live)
46. Girlfriend (Live)
47. Hole (Live)
48. Head On (Live)
49. Sugar Ray (Live)
50. I Hate Rock 'n' Roll (Live)
51. Interview with Jim & William
52. Snakedriver (Video)
53. Something I Can't Have (Video)
54. Sometimes Always (Video)
55. Come On (Video)
56. Something I Can't Have (Live on Later With Jools Holland)
57. Snakedriver (Live on Later With Jools Holland)
58. Reverence (Live on MTV 120 Minutes)
59. Sometimes Always (Live on MTV 120 Minutes)
60. Everybody I Know (Live on MTV 120 Minutes)
61. Come On (Live at MTV Studios)
62. Interview on MTV

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EDSG8010