John Coltrane - Impulse Albums Vol.3, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 26 January 2009
£35.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.99
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £3.99
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £3.99
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £4.99
Others - £6.99
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The third volume documenting the work John Coltrane released on Impulse! collects albums from the mid to late-1960s. While detractors accused Coltrane of playing "anti-jazz" during this late phase, the perspective provided by both time and box sets like THE IMPULSE! ALBUMS VOL. 3 reminds the world that Coltrane was making some of his most adventurous and important music on THE JOHN COLTRANE QUARTET PLAYS, ASCENSION, NEW THING AT NEWPORT, KULU SE MAMA, and MEDITATIONS.
When listened to chronologically, these albums represent a staggeringly rapid development. From his last effort with his classic quartet (THE JOHN COLTRANE QUARTET PLAYS) through the fiery, free improvisations on ASCENSION and the multiphonic experimentation of MEDITATIONS, Coltrane experimented with world music, free rhythm, repetition, and bracing avant garde in various settings (including big bands and duos). It's difficult to overstate the achievement of these albums, or their beauty.
Release Date: 26 January 2009
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Chim Chim Cheree
  • 2. Brazilia
  • 3. Nature Boy
  • 4. Song Of Praise
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Introduction
  • 2. One Down One Up
  • 3. Rufus (Swung His Face At Last To The Wind Then His Neck Snap
  • 4. Le Matin De Noire
  • 5. Scag
  • 6. Call Me By My Rightful Name
  • Disk 3
  • 1. Ascension [Edition II]
  • 2. Ascension [Edition I]
  • Disk 4
  • 1. Father And The Son And The Holy Ghost
  • 2. Compassion
  • 3. Love
  • 4. Consequences
  • 5. Serenity
  • Disk 5
  • 1. Kulu Se Mama (Juno Se Mama)
  • 2. Vigil
  • 3. Welcome

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 1791949