John Coltrane - Kulu Se' Mama (Music CD)

Release Date: 14 September 2009
£6.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

KULU SE MAMA is a somewhat neglected LP recorded by John Coltrane in 1965 during a key transitional stage in his career. Two of the album's three lengthy tracks ("Vigil" and "Welcome") feature the legendary saxophonist with his classic quartet (including bassist Jimmy Garrison, drummer Elvin Jones, and pianist McCoy Tyner). And these pieces have the open, exploratory, modal feel familiar to fans of Coltrane's A LOVE SUPREME period. "Kulu Se Mama" itself features an expanded line-up that includes saxophonist Pharoah Sanders, drummer Frank Butler, bassist and bass clarinetist Donald Garrett, and percussionist/singer Juno Lewis (who wrote the piece), with an African feel that includes layered polyrhythms and chanted vocals.

More Detail

1. Kulu Se Mama (Juno Se Mama)
2. Vigil
3. Welcome

Release Date: 14 September 2009
SKU: 1792034