Johnny Cash - Live from Austin TX (Live Recording/+2DVD) (Music CD)

Release Date: 13 February 2012
Artist: Johnny Cash
£10.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Johnny Cash was fortunate enough to enjoy a massive resurgence of attention and respect in the last decade of his life, but while no one seemed to be paying much attention to him from the early '80s (when his contract with Columbia ran out) to 1994 (when the Rick Rubin-produced American Recordings reminded listeners that a great artist was still in our midst), Cash continued to make good-to-great records and play for fans around the world, and this album, taken from a 1987 taping session for the long-running television series Austin City Limits, shows the Man in Black was still in sterling form as he traveled beneath the radar of country radio and the hipster music press. With his long-time road band backing him up and his soul mate June Carter Cash joining him for a duet on "Where Did We Go Right," Cash sounds relaxed but utterly authoritative on this set, singing tunes he must have done thousands of times before with a genuine emotional gravity (particularly "I Walk the Line" and "Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down"), and lending the force of his remarkable voice to some songs not generally associated with him, including moving interpretations of Guy Clark's "Let Him Roll" and John Prine's "Sam Stone." At one point, while introducing his band, Cash tells the audience, "I don't even remember the bad times, there's been so many good times," but on the best moments of this performance, it's clear he never forgot the valleys of his life, and they informed his work even on what should have been just another television gig following the release of an album (Johnny Cash Is Coming to Town) destined to be lost in the shuffle. It's the strength of ordinary moments like this that serve as a reminder of how remarkable Johnny Cash really was, and while Live from Austin TX is hardly his definitive live album (that honor would go to Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison), it's a potent and thoroughly enjoyable disc that fans will want to hear. ~ Mark Deming
Release Date: 13 February 2012
Artist: Johnny Cash

1. Ring of Fire
2. Folsom Prison Blues
3. Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
4. I Walk the Line
5. The Wall
6. Long Black Veil
7. Big River
8. I'll Go Somewhere and Sing My Songs Again
9. Let Him Roll
10. Ballad of Barbara
11. Sam Stone
12. (Ghost) Riders In the Sky
13. Where Did We Go Right?
14. I Walk the Line (Outro)
15. Ring of Fire
16. Folsom Prison Blues
17. Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
18. I Walk the Line
19. The Wall
20. Long Black Veil
21. Big River
22. I'll Go Somewhere and Sing My Songs Again
23. Let Him Roll
24. Ballad of Barbara
25. Sam Stone
26. (Ghost) Riders In the Sky
27. Where Did We Go Right?
28. I Walk the Line (Outro)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: NW6214