Joshua Oppenheimer: 12 Early Works

Release Date: 27 June 2016
£10.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

RRP: £12.99. You Save: £2.10

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Product Description

Joshua Oppenheimer is perhaps the most renowned of all contemporary documentary filmmakers. His multi award-winning films THE ACT OF KILLING (2012) and THE LOOK OF SILENCE (2014) have redefined how we perceive documentary. His films do not simply record or document facts, Oppenheimer s haunting and surreal films are artistic, playful, philosophical and often confrontational. Thy present profound and ardent meditations on the subjects at hand.

Second Run are delighted to present for the first time anywhere on home video, the complete cycle of the early works of Joshua Oppenheimer, presenting a compelling body of work of one of contemporary cinemas leading voices.

  • Light Test (1995)
  • Camera Test (1995)
  • Hugh (co-directed by Nishit Saran) (1995)
  • The Challenge of Manufacturing (1996)
  • These Places We've Learned to Call Home (1996)
  • The Entire History of the Louisiana Purchase (1997)
  • Land of Enchantment (2000)
  • The Globalisation Tapes (2002)
  • Market Update (2002)
  • A Brief History of Paradise As Told by the Cockroaches (2002)
  • Muzak: A Tool of Management (2002)
  • Postcard from Sun City, Arizona (2003)

  • Presented from brand new transfers of the films, supervised and approved by director Joshua Oppenheimer
  • Original soundtrack in stereo 2.0 audio
  • Booklet featuring a new essay by Gareth Evans
  • Release Date: 27 June 2016