Kings Of Convenience - Quiet Is The New Loud (Music CD)

Release Date: 29 January 2001
£6.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

RRP: £13.79. You Save: £7.00

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.


Emerging in 2001 on a small wave of hype touting Norway as a new musical hotbed, QUIET IS THE NEW LOUD was startling inits earnestness, even to ears that had been softened by thelikes of Belle & Sebastian. Where that Scottish band tempers its twee-ness with clever, winking wordplay, Erlend Oye and Eirik Glambek Boe are more akin to a latter-day Simon & Garfunkel or a couple of Nick Drakes who are lucky to have found each other.
Disarmingly sensitive, poetic tracks such as "Parallel Lines" ("What's the immaterial substance that envelops two/That one perceives as hunger and the other as food") are sung by the duo in honeyed harmonies with a pleasantly laid-back delivery. Oye and Boe eschew drums on all but two tracks (upbeat highlights "Toxic Girl" and "Failure"), simply using layered guitars and the occasional string, piano, or trumpet flourish to accent the hushed power of their songs. The overall effect is one of bedroom introspection, well suited to their nostalgic, inward-looking lyrics.

Track Listing:

1. Winning A Battle Losing The War    
2. Toxic Girl    
3. Singing Softly To Me    
4. I Don't Know What I Can Save You From    
5. Failure    
6. Weight Of My Words    
7. Girl From Back Then    
8. Leaning Against The Wall    
9. Little Kids    
10. Summer On The Westhill    
11. Passenger    
12. Parallel Lines

Release Date: 29 January 2001