Kirsty MacColl - Kite (Music CD)

Release Date: 08 October 2012
£11.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Only Kirsty MacColl's second solo album in the tenth year of her career (she took several years off to have children after marrying producer Steve Lillywhite), 1989's Kite is the pinnacle of her achievement. By far her best-sustained work, this lengthy 15-track album features some of the singer/songwriter's best work on both sides of the hyphen. Her always-terrific vocals -- MacColl was quite likely the best female singer of her generation -- are overdubbed several times on most tracks to create thick, lush harmonies, most notably on the gorgeous cover of the Kinks' "Days." Her songwriting is excellent as well, with some of her sharpest and cleverest words and most memorable melodies found here. The piercing "Innocence" and "Free World" are two of MacColl's most combative songs, while "What Do Pretty Girls Do?" and "Fifteen Minutes," for all their tart lines, are MacColl at her most sympathetic. Besides the excellent originals, another pair of terrific covers -- the Smiths' "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby" and Kate and Anna McGarrigle's "Complainte pour Ste. Catherine" (given a rather Cuban rearrangement that foreshadows her later experiments in Latin music) -- show both MacColl's widely varied influences and her immense interpretive powers. [In 2005 EMI reissued Kite with the bonus tracks "Happy," "Am I Right?," "El Paso," "Le Foret de Mimosas," "Complainte Pour Ste Catherine," as well as alternate mixes of "Freeworld," "Innocence," "No Victims [Guitar Heroes Mix]" and "End of a Perfect Day."] ~ Stewart Mason

More Detail

1. Innocence
2. Free World
3. Mother's Ruin
4. Days
5. No Victims
6. Fifteen Minutes
7. Don't Come the Cowboy with Me, Sonny Jim!
8. Tread Lightly
9. What Do Pretty Girls Do?
10. Dancing in Limbo
11. The End of a Perfect Day
12. You and Me Baby
13. Closer to God?
14. The End of a Perfect Day (Demo Version)
15. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
16. La Fôret de Mimosas
17. Happy
18. El Paso
19. Still Life
20. Please Help Me, I'm Falling
21. Innocence (Single Remix)
22. Clubland
23. Don't Run Away From Me Now
24. Innocence (Guilt Mix)
25. No Victims (Guitar Heroes Mix)
26. Other People's Hearts
27. Complainte pour St. Catherine
28. Am I Right?
29. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby (She's Having a Baby Soundtrack Version)

Release Date: 08 October 2012
Catalogue No: SALVOMDCD29