Lobos (Los) - Kiko Live (Live Recording/+2DVD) (Music CD)

Release Date: 17 September 2012
Artist: Lobos (Los)
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Los Lobos' 1992 album Kiko was a remarkable step forward for a band that was already considered one of the best roots rock acts in America; while Kiko was an outstanding set of songs from a group of gifted and perceptive musicians, it also found Los Lobos working with a producer who encouraged them to explore the possibilities of the recording process in a fresh new way, and the album's sonics were a very large part of what made it so striking. So an album in which Los Lobos play Kiko's 16 songs on-stage in front of a live audience must contend with the fact the studio craft that played a significant role in making Kiko so memorable is simply not going to be part of the package. Thankfully, while many acts who re-create their albums live go to great lengths to mimic the studio creation as closely as possible, Los Lobos are smart enough to know Kiko Live isn't going to be the same animal as the original album, and on these recordings, they subtly reshape the songs and their arrangements to better suit a live performance. Los Lobos have no trouble making this concert (recorded in San Diego in 2006) sound as tight and well-focused as the original studio recordings, but for this concert, they found new shapes and textures in the dynamics of these songs that are simpler but still effective; here "Peace" builds from a quiet opening to a roaring finale, "Just a Man" is leaner and bluesier, "Rio de Tenampa" is less chaotic and more graceful in its waltz-time drift, and the interplay between the percussion loops and the musicians on "Angels with Dirty Faces" is more organic and adds to the song's musical and lyrical tension. Also, the musicians approach the songs with an extra dose of sweat and passion, exchanging the cool surfaces of the studio sessions with the fire of a top-notch live band in full flight. And Kiko Live also gives David Hidalgo and Cesar Rosas plenty of extra room to stretch out on their guitars, and while more soloing might not have made the original album better, the extended jamming on these versions of "Wicked Rain" and "That Train Don't Stop Here" is well worth hearing. Kiko Live won't (and shouldn't) take the place of the classic 1992 studio album, but it shows Los Lobos take a more intelligent approach to the gambit of playing a classic album on-stage than most bands, and the more streamlined interpretations are a reminder that a set of great songs played well by a fine band is the heart of what makes most albums great, even more than a cool drum sound. ~ Mark Deming
Release Date: 17 September 2012
Artist: Lobos (Los)

1. Dream in Blue
2. Wake Up Dolores
3. Angels with Dirty Faces
4. That Train Don't Stop Here
5. Kiko and the Lavender Moon
6. Saint Behind the Glass
7. Reva's House
8. When the Circus Comes
9. Arizona Skies
10. Short Side of Nothing
11. Two Janes
12. Wicked Rain
13. Whiskey Trail
14. Just a Man
15. Peace
16. Rio de Tenampa
17. Carabina 30-30
18. Volver Volver
19. La Bamba
20. Dream in Blue
21. Wake Up Dolores
22. Angels with Dirty Faces
23. That Train Don’T Stop Here
24. Kiko and the Lavender Moon
25. Saint Behind the Glass
26. Reva’s House
27. When the Circus Comes
28. Arizona Skies
29. Short Side of Nothing
30. Two Janes
31. Wicked Rain
32. Whiskey Trail
33. Just a Man
34. Peace
35. Rio De Tenampa
36. Carabina 30-30
37. Volver Volver
38. La Bamba

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: FLOATD6178