Lol Coxhill - Ear of the Beholder (Music CD)

Release Date: 27 June 2011
Artist: Lol Coxhill
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

The avant-garde is an odd beast. In the case of saxophonist/singer Lol Coxhill, that can range from the virtually unlistenable squawk of "Feedback" (which is exactly what the title says) to '30s music hall songs performed with keyboard player David Bedford. Cobbled together from live tapes and a few studio sessions, much of the backing comes from the Whole World, the Kevin Ayers backing band of which Coxhill was a member. But not all: "Rasa-Moods," a 20-minute spontaneous performance taped in Holland, brings in Dutch free musicians for something that travels through moods; "A Conversation With Children" is exactly that; and the cover of "I Am the Walrus" is sung by kids, to offer an odd, disquieting effect. Some pieces work better than others; the solo railway bridge improvisations of "Hungerford," punctuated by passing trains, is the perfect plunge into this record, while "The Rhythmic Hooter" is as close to something normal as it gets here, before descending into "That's Why...Darkies Were Born," an ironic, deliberately anti-racist performance of an old vaudeville hit (as the notes emphasize). The standard "Lover Man" gets a working over, not always with the best result, while "Open Picadilly" is just that, recorded in the open in London's Picadilly. It's a challenging record, and as Coxhill admits at the very beginning (on "Introduction" he disarmingly discusses the disc's successes and failures), it doesn't all work. When it hits, it's excellent; when it doesn't, attention wanders all too easily. But for 1971, aimed at the rock audience via John Peel's Dandelion label, it was decidedly adventurous and daring -- and still is. ~ Chris Nickson
Release Date: 27 June 2011
Artist: Lol Coxhill

1. Introduction
2. Hungerford
3. Deviation Dance
4. Two Little Pigeons
5. Don Alfresco
6. Open Piccadilly
7. Feedback
8. Vorblifa - Exit
9. Insensatez
10. Conversation/Mango Walk
11. Piccadilly with Goofs
12. Rasa Moods
13. A Collective Improvisation
14. I Am the Walrus
15. The Rhythmic Hooter
16. Lover Man
17. Zoological Fun
18. Little Triple One Shot
19. That's Why Darkies Were Born
20. A Series of Superbly Played Mellotron Codas
21. Pretty Little Girl, Pt. 1 - Coxhill/Bedford Duo
22. Pretty Little Girl, Pt. 2 - Coxhill/Bedford Duo
23. Sonny Boy/Oh Mein Papa - Will Dandy & the Dandylettes
24. Mood - Coxhill/Bedford Duo

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: ECLEC22275