Lonnie Liston Smith - Song For The Children/Exotic Mysteries (Music CD)

Release Date: 19 January 2009
£9.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Not to be confused with soul-jazz organist Dr. Lonnie Smith, Lonnie Liston Smith was also a keyboardist who specialized in funky jazz. Yet Liston Smith's specialty was fusion, as this twofer, which includes 1979's A SONG FOR THE CHILDREN and 1978's EXOTIC MYSTERIES, shows. While Smith always stays connected to his hard-bop roots, the music on these sets demonstrates his affinity for pop, funk, soul, and disco. There are a few tracks with vocals here, and some tunes by a young Marcus Miller (who was playing with Smith at the time), but for the most part the set features tight, post-bop-inflected pop instrumentals that drip with Smith's funky touch.

More Detail

1. Song For The Children
2. Lover's Dream
3. Aquarian Cycle
4. Street Festival
5. Midsummer Magic
6. Nightlife
7. Gift Of Love
8. Space Princess
9. Quiet Moments
10. Magical Journey
11. Exotic Mysteries
12. Singing For Love
13. Mystical Dreamer
14. Twilight
15. Night Flower

Release Date: 19 January 2009