Lud Gluskin - Lud Gluskin 1924-1933 (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 September 2009
Artist: Lud Gluskin
£19.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

New horizons in historic jazz reissuing were revealed in 2005 when Jazz Oracle came out with a double-CD compendium of recordings made for about a dozen different labels between October 1924 and February 1933 in Vienna, Paris, and Berlin, all involving bandleader Lud Gluskin (1898-1989). Andreas Schmauder, apparently one of the world's leading Gluskin authorities, was asked to paw through literally hundreds of 78 rpm platters to designate the 48 titles included in this package, which is loaded with precious photographs and fascinating information. Gluskin first appears as a drummer with Paul Gason and His Versatile Orchestra. "Ain't She Sweet?" is performed by the Playboys, a Detroit-based band that would soon morph into an expanded and more versatile orchestra under Gluskin's direction. Subsequent billings list the perpetually evolving group as Lud Gluskin and His Versatile Juniors, Lud Gluskin et Son Jazz Orchestre Lud Gluskin, "Lud" Gluskin Ambassadonians, Lud Gluskin and his Ambassadors Orchestra, Jazz-Orchester Lud Gluskin, and finally Lud Gluskin et son Orchestre, which is the name they appeared under most often when serenading patrons at the Casino de Paris. The sound of the band often brings to mind great old-time jazz heroes like the Original Memphis Five, Red Nichols, Miff Mole, Bix Beiderbecke, Frankie Trumbauer, Frank Teschmacher and Jean Goldkette, whose arrangements were in fact used by Gluskin from time to time. Material ranges from hot novelty dance music and traditional pop tunes to substantial jazz numbers like "Tiger Rag," "Milenberg Joys," "Clarinet Marmalade," W.C. Handy's "St. Louis Blues," Fats Waller's "Whiteman Stomp," and Fud Livingston's "Feelin' No Pain." Jazz Oracle continues to astonish and delight all who are fascinated with obscure jazz records from the early 20th century. This installment is particularly rewarding. ~ arwulf arwulf
Release Date: 10 September 2009
Artist: Lud Gluskin
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Down Home Blues - Gason, Paul and His Orchestra
  • 2. Steamboat Sal - Gason, Paul and His Orchestra
  • 3. I Certainly Could - Gason, Paul Et Son Versatile Orchestra
  • 4. Ain't She Sweet? - Playboys
  • 5. Tiger Rag
  • 6. Si Vous Connaisez Papa
  • 7. Feelin' No Pain
  • 8. Miss Annabelle Lee
  • 9. Sunny Skies
  • 10. Did You Mean It?
  • 11. Whiteman Stomp
  • 12. St. Louis Blues
  • 13. Ten Little Miles from Town
  • 14. Clarinet Marmalade
  • 15. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 16. You Took Advantage of Me
  • 17. Clarinet Marmalade
  • 18. I Wanna Be Loved by You
  • 19. Crazy Rhythm
  • 20. Add a Little Wiggle
  • 21. What a Wonderful Wedding That Will Be
  • 22. Everywhere You Go
  • 23. Milenber Joys
  • 24. Skadatin-Dee
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Tiger Rag
  • 2. A Room with a View
  • 3. That's My Weakness Now
  • 4. Gipsy
  • 5. Stairway of Dreams
  • 6. Doin' the New Low Down
  • 7. Moanin' Low
  • 8. I Wanna Go Places and Do Things
  • 9. Close Your Eyes
  • 10. Someone's Falling in Love
  • 11. It's Nice Like This
  • 12. Birmingham Bertha
  • 13. Milenberg Joys
  • 14. Bee-Ology
  • 15. C'est Mon Gigolo
  • 16. Oh, Donna Clara
  • 17. 'Leven Thirty Saturday Night
  • 18. There's a Wah-Wah Gal in Agua Caliente
  • 19. March of the Hoodlums
  • 20. Oh! Mo'nah!
  • 21. Dinah
  • 22. Crazy People
  • 23. How About You and Me?
  • 24. Fit as a Fiddle

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: BDW8045