Manic Street Preachers - Everything Must Go (Remastered) (Music CD)

Release Date: 20 May 2016
£4.79 includes FREE UK Postage

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Months after the release of the harrowing The Holy Bible, Manic Street Preachers guitarist Richey James disappeared, leaving no trace of his whereabouts or his well-being. Ultimately, the remaining trio decided to carry on, releasing their fourth album, Everything Must Go, in 1996. Considering the tragic circumstances that surrounded it, Everything Must Go is the strongest, most focused, and certainly the most optimistic album the Manics ever released. Five of the songs feature lyrics Richey left behind before his disappearance, and while offering no motivation for his actions, they do hint at the depths of his despair. Nicky Wire wrote the remaining lyrics, and his songs give the record its weight and balance, confronting the issue of Richey's disappearance in a roundabout way, never explicitly mentioning the topic but offering a gritty dose of realistic optimism offering the hope that things will get better; after the nihilism of The Holy Bible, the outlook is all the more inspiring. Furthermore, the Manics' musical attack has become leaner; their music still rages, but it's channeled into concise, anthemic rock songs that soar on their own belief. Above all, Everything Must Go is a cathartic experience -- it is genuinely moving to hear the Manics offering hope without sinking to mawkish sentimentality or collapsing under the weight of their situation. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Disc: 1
1. Elvis Impersonator: Blackpool Pier
2. A Design for Life
3. Kevin Carter
4. Enola / Alone
5. Everything Must Go
6. Small Black Flowers That Grow in the Sky
7. The Girl Who Wanted to Be God
8. Removables
9. Australia
10. Interiors (Song for Willem de Kooning)
11. Further Away
12. No Surface All Feeling

Disc: 2

1. Everything Must Go
2. Enola / Alone
3. Faster
4. Kevin Carter
5. La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh)
6. Removables
7. Roses in the Hospital
8. Elvis Impersonator: Blackpool Pier
9. The Girl Who Wanted to Be God
10. Motown Junk
11. Motorcycle Emptiness
12. No Surface All Feeling
13. This Is Yesterday
14. Small Black Flowers That Grow in the Sky
15. Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head
16. Yes
17. Australia
18. Stay Beautiful
19. A Design for Life
20. You Love Us
Release Date: 20 May 2016

For more information about deliveries refer to our Delivery Policy.

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Standard Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £0.99
Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia
SKU: 88875189992