Manic Street Preachers - National Treasures - The Complete Singles (2 CD) (Music CD)

Release Date: 31 October 2011
£7.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Arriving roughly ten years after their first hits compilation, 2002’s Forever Delayed, 2011’s National Treasures: The Complete Singles has another decade to cover so it’s perfectly sensible that the collection spans two discs as it diligently marches through almost every single Manic Street Preachers released during their first 20 years. The absences are the province of trainspotters: anything released on Heavenly Records prior to “Motown Junk,” for instance, along with other stray exclusives and fan club bonuses. What is here is everything from 1991’s “Motown Junk” through 2011’s “Postcards from a Young Man,” with a new cover of The The’s “This Is the Day” added at the end as fan bait. Through these two discs, the band’s highs, tragedies, slumps, and comebacks are all evident, the first disc devoted to 1992’s Generation Terrorists through 1996’s Everything Must Go, the second capturing the band’s evolution into respected rabble-rousers. The second disc has the chart-toppers and Top Ten hits -- as late as 2004 and 2005 the Manics were reaching number two with “The Love of Richard Nixon,” “Empty Souls,” and “Your Love Alone Is Not Enough” -- but it’s the first disc, containing the songs they recorded with Richey Edwards and the music they made immediately after his disappearance, that makes the strongest case for their legacy.

More Detail

1. Motown Junk
2. Stay Beautiful
3. Love's Sweet Exile
4. You Love Us
5. Slash 'n' Burn
6. Motorcycle Emptiness
7. Theme from M*A*S*H (Suicide Is Painless}
8. Little Baby Nothing
9. From Despair to Where
10. La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh)
11. Roses in the Hospital
12. Life Becoming a Landslide
13. Faster
14. Revol
15. She Is Suffering
16. A Design for Life
17. Everything Must Go
18. Kevin Carter
19. Australia
20. If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next
21. The Everlasting
22. You Stole the Sun from My Heart
23. Tsunami
24. The Masses Against the Classes
25. So Why So Sad
26. Found That Soul
27. Ocean Spray
28. Let Robeson Sing
29. There by the Grace of God
30. The Love of Richard Nixon
31. Empty Souls
32. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
33. Autumnsong
34. Indian Summer
35. (It's Not War) Just the End of Love
36. Some Kind of Nothingness
37. Postcards from a Young Man
38. This Is the Day

Release Date: 31 October 2011
SKU: 88697946162