Mike Watt - Secondman's Middle Stand, The (+DVD)

Release Date: 22 March 2010
Artist: Mike Watt
£7.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

The photo of Mike Watt on back cover of 2004's THE SECONDMAN'S MIDDLE STAND portrays a bushy-moustache-sporting, extremely thin dude who bears little resemblance to the portly, energetic icon who lent his burbling bass and DIY charisma to legendary post-punk acts the Minutemen and Firehose. The music contained within, however, proves the fire is still burning. In keeping with the aesthetic of Watt's earlier solo outings, THE SECONDMAN'S MIDDLE STAND serves up an eclectic stew of scattershot rock, blues, soul, and avant-noise, all rooted in punk's anything-goes ethos.
Watt's bursts of half-spoken, half-exclaimed vocals bring to mind both the amphetamine-driven poets of the Beat generation (Watt does have a penchant for apocalyptic and scatological imagery--see "Pissbags and Tubing"), and Captain Beefheart circa TROUT MASK REPLICA. As has always been the case with Watt and his peers, however, sheer creativity and vitality eclipse any quirky shortcomings. Watt's exemplary bass playing drives the affair, and acts as a thread tying together the fractured, jump-cut nature of his compositions. From the mock gospel rave-up of "Puked to High Heaven" to the pounding prog-rock of "The Angels Gate", Watt is still as in-your-face as ever.
Release Date: 22 March 2010
Artist: Mike Watt

1. Boilin' Blazes
2. Puked To High Heaven
3. Burstedman
4. Tied A Reed 'Round My Waist
5. Pissbags And Tubing
6. Beltsandedman
7. Angels Gate, The
8. Pluckin' Pedalin' And Paddlin'
9. Pelicanman

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: EAR005