Mott The Hoople/Ian Hunter - Golden Age 1969-1997, The (Music CD)

Release Date: 06 April 2009
£13.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

It's hard not to look at Raven's The Golden Age 1969-1997 and think of Shout Factory's Old Records Never Die, a collection that also featured the best of Mott the Hoople and Ian Hunter. Both compilations appeared in 2008 and cover the same ground, but there's a crucial difference: Raven's collection is a single disc and Shout Factory's is a double-CD set, dividing neatly into a disc of Mott and a disc of Ian solo. Raven condenses all this material into a cracking 18-track collection - one that, as you might suspect, heavily overlaps with Old Records; only three songs here aren't on the double (Mott's "One of the Boys," Ian's "Loner," and "Michael Picasso"). There's nothing but terrific music here and it provides a good summary of one of the great cult rock & roll bands, yet The Golden Age only scratches the surface of how much good music either Mott or Hunter released. It's hard not to think that Raven might have been better served by doing two separate compilations, one devoted to Mott and one devoted to Ian, but as a basic overview, The Golden Age provides a lot of bang for the buck. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

More Detail

1. Rock And Roll Queen
2. Walkin' With A Mountain
3. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
4. All The Young Dudes
5. One Of The Boys
6. Honaloochie Boogie
7. All The Way From Memphis
8. Ballad Of Mott The Hoople
9. Roll Away The Stone
10. Golden Age Of Rock 'N' Roll
11. Saturday Gigs
12. Once Bitten Twice Shy
13. You Nearly Did Me In
14. Just Another Night
15. Cleveland Rocks
16. Central Park N' West
17. Loner
18. Michael Picasso

Release Date: 06 April 2009
Catalogue No: RVCD295