Os Mutantes - World Psychedelic Classics Vol.1 (Everything Is Possible - The Best Of Os Mutantes) (Music CD)

Release Date: 25 August 2008
Artist: Os Mutantes
£9.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

To listen to this collection is to know that in the '60s, ground zero for "pure pop genius" was not only located in England or the U.S., but in turbulent, bubbling Brazil. This collection presents the very cream of the crazy cream of Os Mutantes, with 14 tracks hand-picked by Beco Dranoff and David Byrne. While these brilliant, psychedelic recordings are best appreciated in the context of the three albums from which they are mostly culled, the music found here offers a wonderful glimpse of the dynamic pop magic that was Os Mutantes.
There's the purple-hazed crawl of "Dia 36", with Baptista-brand wobbled vocals and bizarre, inverted wah-wah acoustic guitar. There are two versions of the lovely gem "Baby", the 1968 version lulling along to the sound of reverb-vibrato guitar and toy organ while that of 1971 softens a bit, with Jobim-esque nylon-string guitar and piano rolling out a bossa nova rhythm for Rita Lee's English cooing. Fuzz-guitar joyride "A Minha Menina" is simply the definition of "groovy". "Ave, Lucifer" is a shadowy little ode to the devil, with a dire melody and fanfares of horns and strings. This is genius pop that straddles the fence between sincerity and irony with relish.
Release Date: 25 August 2008
Artist: Os Mutantes

1. Ando Meio Desligado
2. Ave Lucifer
3. Dia 36
4. Baby
5. Fuga No.II
6. Cantor De Mambo
7. Adeus Maria Fulo
8. Desculpe Babe
9. El Justiciero
10. Panis Et Circenses
11. A Minha Menina
12. Batmacumba
13. La Premier Bonheur Du Jour
14. Baby

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 8089900362