Pantera - Great Southern Trendkill (Music CD)

Release Date: 21 October 2016
Artist: Pantera
£11.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Thankfully, Pantera has stopped attempting to outdo each successive album in terms of start-to-finish intensity, but that doesn't mean they don't try in spots. The Great Southern Trendkill is burdened with passages in which Phil Anselmo's vocals cross the line into histrionics, making the band's trademark intensity sound dull, forced, and theatrical rather than sincere. The lyrics, which reached their apex with Vulgar Display of Power's focus on personal politics and integrity, have degenerated into half-baked rants against drugs and pop-culture media. But Trendkill is partially redeemed by trading Pantera's usual pound-then-pound-harder approach to albums for a greater variety of tempos and moods. Dimebag Darrell, while mostly sticking to his familiar riffing style, does coax some intriguing, unexpected sounds from his instrument. Ultimately, though, the ballads and slower tracks ("10's," "Suicide Note, Pt. 1," and "Floods") provide the album's most chilling, memorable moments, and rank with their best material. Longtime Pantera fans will find plenty to enjoy here, and the band's expanding range bodes well, but overall, Trendkill is an inconsistent outing. ~ Steve Huey

More Detail

  • Disk 1
  • 1. The Great Southern Trendkill
  • 2. War Nerve
  • 3. Drag the Waters
  • 4. 10's
  • 5. 13 Steps to Nowhere
  • 6. Suicide Note, Pt. 1
  • 7. Suicide Note, Pt. 2
  • 8. Living Through Me (Hell's Wrath)
  • 9. Floods
  • 10. The Underground In America
  • 11. Sandblasted Skin (Reprise)
  • Disk 2
  • 1. The Great Southern Trendkill (2016 Mix)
  • 2. War Nerve (Live 1998)
  • 3. Drag the Waters (Early Mix)
  • 4. 10's (Early Mix)
  • 5. 13 Steps to Nowhere (Instrumental Version)
  • 6. Suicide Note, Pt. 1 (Intro)
  • 7. Suicide Note, Pt. 1 (Early Mix)
  • 8. Suicide Note, Pt. 2 (Live 1998)
  • 9. Living Through Me (Hell's Wrath) (Instrumental Version)
  • 10. Floods (Early Mix)
  • 11. The Underground In America (Early Mix)
  • 12. Sandblasted Skin (Live 1998)
Release Date: 21 October 2016
Artist: Pantera
SKU: 0081227946784