Prince - Graffiti Bridge (Music CD)

Release Date: 20 August 1990
Artist: Prince
£5.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP: £9.79. You Save: £4.10

Available 2-3 extra days

It's easy to dismiss this album as an unfocused mess--and many have. On GRAFFITI BRIDGE, Prince writes songs for colleagues to play; nine of the 17 cuts feature other artists such as The Time, Mavis Staples, Tevin Campbell and George Clinton. And it is indeed messy. But the record's merits must be acknowledged too. At the top of this list is the song "Joy in Repetition", a slight narrative idea clung to, wrapped in dreamy bluesiness, and beautifully delivered. Also notable is "We Can Funk". Many have tried to reclaim George Clinton's P-Funk contributions to butt-shaking music, but few have managed it without losing their own identity. Prince pulls it off.
Even some of Prince's missteps can be classified as brilliant mistakes, beautiful failures. The overtly Christian "Elephants and Flowers" is as preposterously rich and frothy as its title. "Thieves in the Temple's" sonic frou-frou has earned it fans, despite its greasy aftertaste. GRAFFITI BRIDGE is a funk experiment from a man who never rests on hislaurels

1. Can't Stop This Feeling I Got
2. Question Of U
3. Round And Round - Campbell, Tevin
4. Joy In Repetition
5. Tick Tick Bang
6. Thieves In The Temple
7. Melody Cool
8. Graffiti Bridge
9. Release It - Time (1)
10. Elephants And Flowers
11. We Can Funk
12. Love Machine
13. Shake - Time (1)
14. Latest Fashion
15. Still Would Stand All Time
16. New Power Generation

Release Date: 20 August 1990
Artist: Prince
Catalogue No: 7599274932