Queen - Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert (Live Recording/+DVD)

Release Date: 02 September 2013
Artist: Queen
£14.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

The AIDS charity concert staged by the surviving members of Queen on April 20, 1992, at Wembley Stadium was an appropriate send-off for the band's late lead singer, Freddie Mercury, who had succumbed to the disease five months earlier. The flamboyant Mercury was always in his element before gigantic crowds like the one that filled Wembley one last time, and his stand-ins for the occasion -- Gary Cherone (then of Extreme), Roger Daltrey, Joe Elliott (Def Leppard), James Hetfield (Metallica), Elton John, Annie Lennox, George Michael, Liza Minnelli, Robert Plant, Axl Rose (Guns N' Roses), Seal, Lisa Stansfield, Paul Young, and Zucchero -- were artists who both knew how to work such audiences and also had at least some of his flair for performing. Some, indeed, went too far, with Cherone, for example, turning in a hyperactive display during "Hammer to Fall." All brought their personal styles and interpretations, sometimes to telling effect, such as Minnelli's wry reading of the line "Mistakes, I've made a few" in "We Are the Champions." (David Bowie, who appeared on three songs, can't really be called a Mercury stand-in, since he only sang his own part in "Under Pressure," followed by his own songs "All the Young Dudes" [featuring Mott the Hoople's Ian Hunter] and "Heroes.") In the hour-long documentary accompanying the 105-minute concert on this double DVD released to mark the concert's tenth anniversary, Plant notes that none of the performers could sing Queen's songs as well as Mercury -- and in the right keys -- but they often provide interesting glosses on those songs, making this a valuable document for Queen fans, apart from the charity aspect. They may, however, long for more of Mercury himself than the brief video collages used to tide the Wembley crowd over during set changes that are included on the second disc. ~ William Ruhlmann

More Detail

  • Disk 1
  • 1. Intro
  • 2. Introduction - May, Brian
  • 3. Enter Sandman - Metallica
  • 4. Sad But True - Metallica
  • 5. Nothing Else Matters - Metallica
  • 6. Freddie Montage
  • 7. Queen Medley - Extreme
  • 8. Freddie Montage
  • 9. Now I'm Here - May, Brian
  • 10. I'm Going Slightly Mad (Video)
  • 11. Too Late God - Geldof, Bob
  • 12. Paradise City - Guns N' Roses
  • 13. Knocking On Heaven's Door - Guns N' Roses
  • 14. Speech - Taylor, Elizabeth
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Tie Your Mother Down - Slash
  • 2. I Want It All - Iommi, Tony
  • 3. Las Palabras De Amor - Zucchero
  • 4. Hammer To Fall - Iommi, Tony
  • 5. Stone Cold Crazy - Iommi, Tony
  • 6. Crazy Little Thing Called Love - Plant, Robert
  • 7. Too Much Love Will Kill You - May, Brian
  • 8. Radio Ga Ga - Young, Paul
  • 9. Who Wants To Live Forever - Seal
  • 10. I Want To Break Free - Stansfield, Lisa
  • 11. Under Pressure - Bowie, David
  • 12. All The Young Dudes - Hunter, Ian
  • 13. Heroes - Ronson, Mick
  • 14. Year Of '39 - Michael, George
  • 15. These Are The Days Of Our Lives - Stansfield, Lisa
  • 16. Somebody To Love - Michael, George
  • 17. Bohemian Rhapsody - Rose, Axl
  • 18. The Show Must Go On - Iommi, Tony
  • 19. We Will Rock You - Rose, Axl
  • 20. We Are The Champions - Minnelli, Liza
  • Disk 3
  • 1. Rehearsal Footage
  • 2. Documentary
  • 3. Photo Galleries
  • 4. Facts
Release Date: 02 September 2013
Artist: Queen