Raiders - Indian Reservation/Collage (Music CD)

Release Date: 13 July 2009
Artist: Raiders
£13.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Raven's 2009 two-fer pairs 1970's Collage and 1971's Indian Reservation, the two records released under the Raiders appellation after Mark Lindsay dropped the "Paul Revere" from the band's name. Raven flips the chronological order of the albums so Indian Reservation can kick the disc off with the hit single, then adds two cuts from the 1972 LP Country Wine as bonus tracks ("Country Wine," "Powder Blue Mercedes Queen"). Neither of these albums are very reminiscent of the kicking rock & roll band of the '60s: they're lush '70s AM pop artifacts. Indian Reservation has a decidedly soulful streak, present in the gospelfied "Heaven Help Us All," popularized by Stevie Wonder, and the punching horns of "Just Remember You're My Sunshine," even in the rousing version of Leon Russell's "Prince of Peace." This is balanced by a songwritery sunshine pop bent on the rest of the record, with the Raiders covering Terry Melcher's "Take Me Home," the John D. Loudermilk cover of the title track, the latter-day soft psychedelia of Vanda & Young's "Come In, You'll Get Pneumonia" and a version of Joe South's "Birds of a Feather" that's much mushier than the songwriter's original. Indian Reservation kinda collapses as it closes with Lindsay's lark of "The Turkey" -- sung like Sonny Bono, jamming like hippies -- but it never was the steadiest record anyway: there's not much direction, but there is much to enjoy here. In comparison, Collage is a more cohesive album, fueled by Mark Lindsay pushing the Raiders toward a harder rock, part way between the fuzz guitars of Grand Funk and horns of Chicago, accentuated by lingering affection for country-rock and soul. All these styles do amount to something of a pop collage, but they're all run through an AM pop filter, turning this is into a bright blast of bubblegum. Of course, this bubblegum bent tends to dilute the impact of the Raiders two attempts at social consciousness -- Laura Nyro's "Save the Country" and the closer "We Gotta All Get Together" -- but as a piece of colorful candy, these two cuts are as effective lite pop as Lindsay's two spacy co-writes with Terry Melcher and all his detours into harder rock. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

More Detail

1. Indian Reservation (the Lament of the Cherokee Reservation I
2. Shape of Things To Come
3. Prince of Peace
4. Heaven Help Us All
5. Take Me Home
6. Just Remember You're My Sunshine
7. Come In You'll Get Pneumonia
8. Eve of Destruction
9. Birds of a Feather
10. Turkey
11. Save the Country
12. Think Twice
13. Interlude (To Be Forgotten)
14. Dr. Fine
15. Just Seventeen
16. Boys In the Band
17. Tighter
18. Gone Movin' On
19. Wednesday's Child
20. Sorceress With Blue Eyes
21. We Gotta All Get Together
22. Country Wine
23. Powder Blue Mercedes Queen

Release Date: 13 July 2009
Artist: Raiders
Catalogue No: RVCD298