Richard Thompson - Live from Austin TX (Live Recording/+DVD)

Release Date: 04 June 2012
£10.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

There are few more reliable live performers than Richard Thompson, who never fails to impress on-stage in any context, and in recent years Thompson has been issuing a steady stream of live recordings (available through his website and at live shows), finally filling a void that bootleggers had been attempting to satisfy for some time. Live from Austin, TX is a slightly different animal than most of Thompson's self-released live offerings -- while many of Thompson's live offerings were culled from several dates from the same tour, this is a direct audio recording of the set he played at a taping for the great PBS music series Austin City Limits on July 2, 2001. It's also available through normal retail outlets, which means more people will be able to get hold of it, though in some ways it isn't quite as strong as Semi-Detached Mock Tudor, Thompson's 2002 release which includes much of the same material and a stronger, more dynamic sound mix. Still, there are those who will argue you can't have too many recordings of Thompson singing his songs or offering up his dazzling guitar work, and it's difficult not to agree after giving Live from Austin, TX a spin -- his interplay with bassist Danny Thompson and drummer Michael Jerome is remarkable, his wiry guitar playing is largely sublime (though the version of "Bathsheba Smiles" features that modern rarity, Thompson actually flubbing a phrase!), and the set list strikes a lovely balance between material from Mock Tudor and gems from his back catalog. In short, this disc features Richard Thompson playing 15 excellent songs in concert, and really, how far wrong can you go with that? ~ Mark Deming
Release Date: 04 June 2012

1. Cooksferry Queen
2. Uninhabited Man
3. Walking the Long Miles Home
4. Al Bowlly's In Heaven
5. Mingus Eyes
6. Dry My Tears & Move On
7. Easy There, Steady Now
8. Persuasion
9. Bathsheba Smiles
10. Mr. Rebound
11. Ghosts In the Wind
12. She Twists the Knife Again
13. Shoot Out the Lights
14. Crawl Back (Under My Stone)
15. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
16. Cooksferry Queen
17. Uninhabited Man
18. Walking the Long Miles Home
19. Al Bowlly's In Heaven
20. Mingus Eyes
21. Dry My Tears & Move On
22. Easy There, Steady Now
23. Persuasion
24. Bathsheba Smiles
25. Mr. Rebound
26. Ghosts In the Wind
27. She Twists the Knife Again
28. Shoot Out the Lights
29. Crawl Back (Under My Stone)
30. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: NW6241