Robert Mazurek - Silver Spines (Music CD)

Release Date: 03 March 2009
£11.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Here is a record that has been promised/threatened for some time, a solo outing from cornetist Rob Mazurek. On first glance, even considering Mazurek's visionary compositions and contributions to melodic free improvisation in units such as Isotope 217 and the Chicago Underground Orchestra, Duo, and Trio, this project might seem slight. What is slight is the amount of overtly "arty" projection and pretension, not the music. Working closely with engineer Casey Rice, Mazurek offers 18 compositions of elaborately layered melody, edgeless dissonance, found and electronic sound, manipulated in the studio and reshaped into small but gorgeous small universes of texture, lyricism, impression, and ghostly presences. The opener, "Moving Through and Back Again," is startling from the first second as a sweet, muted melodic frame is stuttered and spindled to showcase the possibilities of other narrative melodicisms underneath. On "Bird Song, So Sang, To Them," an initial scalar set of varying arpeggios and phrased legato frames are gradually slowed and blown more dynamically, one line picking up to move forward from the middle of the last one's knotted thematic and drawn out tonally to stretch across the entire sonic body of the improvisation. Elsewhere, on "Metal Monsters Don't Fail Me Now," Mazurek's cornet feels and sounds more like Buckethead's guitar, it is so processed through microphones and effects, and his playing is right through the middle, repetitive and insistent to the point of abrasiveness, but it never, ever lacks soul. The album closes with "Love, For (Slight Burnt in Beginning)," a collage of affected phrases where the middle note ends up as the tonal base for what comes next, whether that sound come from underwater, phrased like a scratched record, or in tandem bursts from the bell of the horn. In all, it's as experimental a record as there is, but it is hardly inaccessible. In fact, in most places, it is not only quite lovely to listen to, but full of humor as well. This is what makes Delmark such a great label, their willingness to put something out just for its excellence no matter what it is. And make no mistake: Silver Spines is nothing short of excellent. ~ Thom Jurek
Release Date: 03 March 2009

1. Moving Through And Back Again (The Quietude Of Moving Throug
2. Cloth And Bells Cut 3:16-3:444 Seconds Of Silence. I Have Se
3. Breathe And Silver Spines Contained (For Stanley Kubrick)
4. Birds Song So Sang To Them
5. Patterns And Fixations Along The Path Of Seeing Red
6. Feel Ard...Ardeel...Feeling Hard...Falling Harder (with Casey Rice On Nord Micro Modular)
7. Haphazard Half Hazardous... Frequencies Push Through Another (Made With Moog Source)
8. For Love (No Burst In Beginning)
9. Through The Window There Was A Green And Blue Dress
10. Metal Monsters Never Fail Me Now (with Casey Rice On Metal Monster)
11. Composition 56 In 4th Place And Still Looking
12. Them Sang So_Song Birds
13. Remember The Time It Spun Out And Fell Into Itself. It Never (with Casey Rice On No)
14. Quietly Sleeping
15. How Time Turns In On Itself (Or) That Thought I Had Next Thu
16. Underwater And Trying To Find The Stars
17. Still Looking But Not Breathing
18. Love For (Slight Burst In Beginning)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: DG540