Roxanne Potvin - Play (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 January 2012
£11.59 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

After four albums that had defined her as a blues artist, Canadian singer/songwriter Roxanne Potvin decided to start over, leaving her record label and her manager, and moving back home to Montreal from Toronto. For Play, her fifth album, she has hooked up with Vancouver-based Black Hen Music and cut an album with label head Steve Dawson, who produced, co-engineered, and mixed it in addition to playing lead guitar in the rock accompaniments. Potvin has written a batch of songs that redefine her as a frisky folk-rocker with a pop edge in the manner of, say, Sheryl Crow, with elements of Lucinda Williams and Suzanne Vega thrown in. The songs are whimsical reflections on life expressed with girlish humor, and Dawson matches their tone, for instance ending "Let Me Go" with a musical pileup and providing an organ-driven rock backing for the playful "Dis-Moi Que Tu M'Aimes." Potvin has more fun as the album goes on, satirizing "Pretty Girls" whose makeup and fashionable clothes make them look like "whores," and even turning in a folk-rock treatment of "I'm Too Sexy." This may not be what her old fans are looking for, but Roxanne Potvin redefines herself on Play, and she may be looking for a whole new audience, too. ~ William Ruhlmann

More Detail

1. Barricades
2. You Told Me
3. Let Me Go
4. Born to Win
5. Coral Reef Fishes
6. Magic Rainbows
7. Dis-Moi Que Tu M'Aimes
8. Pretty Girls
9. Donnes Ton Mal
10. Seashells
11. I'm Too Sexy
12. Keep Your Head

Release Date: 16 January 2012