Roy Loney & Phantom Movers - Hundred Miles An Hour 1978-1989, A (Music CD)

Release Date: 05 October 2009
£13.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
New Zealand / Far East Asia - £1.69
Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Roy Loney was the lead singer with the Flamin' Groovies until he walked out on the band in 1971, and he took a good share of their rock action with him -- when the Groovies re-emerged in 1976 under the leadership of founding guitarist Cyril Jordan, their frenetic rockabilly and blues-infused approach was gone in favor of a British Invasion-styled pop sound that was often beautiful but no match for the original in terms of sheer power. Anyone who wondered what had happened to the band's frantic energy only had to turn to Roy Loney's first solo album, 1979's OUT AFTER DARK, which sounded like a slightly updated version of the sound the Flamin' Groovies were reaching for on their masterful 1971 album, TEENAGE HEAD. Loney cut a handful of solo albums ranging from good to great after returning to action in the late '70s (and is still cutting great stuff in the new millennium), but most of those discs are unfortunately out of print, so the record collectors at Australia's Raven Records have cherry-picked the highlights from six different Loney releases for the compilation A HUNDRED MILES AN HOUR 1978-1989. On top of being a great rock & roll belter with no fear of pushing himself into the red zone, Loney is a fine songwriter with a wildly idiosyncratic sense of humor, and not many roots rockers would have come up with anything like the big city rant "Scum City," the libidinous "Neat Petite," or the tongue-in-cheek hipster anthem "Panic to a Manic Degree." Most of these cuts feature a few other former Groovies backing Loney (including drummer Danny Mihm, bassist George Alexander, and guitarist Tim Lynch -- Cyril Jordan even pops up on two cuts), and while these sessions were cut for small labels that couldn't always give Loney the studio time and production smarts his songs deserved, when Loney and his sidemen kick into fourth gear the occasionally thin production can be easily forgiven as Loney's full-bodied voice fills the playing field. The Flamin' Groovies' catalog has been extensively reissued in recent years, but most of Loney's solo work remains unfortunately hard to find, and A HUNDRED MILES AN HOUR is an excellent stopgap until his work starts getting the treatment it deserves; those who wonder what became of Loney after he quit the Flamin' Groovies should do themselves a favor and pick up this profile of a natural born rock & roll genius in action.

More Detail

1. Hundred Miles An Hour
2. Love Is A Spider
3. Least Magnificent Moment (Of My Life)
4. Used Hoodoo
5. Born To Be Your Fool
6. Neat Petite
7. Return To Sender
8. I Love It
9. Scum City
10. She Run Away
11. Phantom Mover
12. People People
13. San Francisco Girls
14. Don't Believe Those Lies (live)
15. Act Of Love
16. Down The Road Apiece
17. Slip Slide And Stomp
18. Panic To A Manic Degree
19. Double Dare
20. Lana Lee
21. You Can't Be Too Wild
22. Driving Wheel
23. Ragged But Wrong
24. Slippin' Out The Back Door
25. Renegade
26. Chicken Run Around
27. Ruin Your Shoes
28. Nervous Slim

Release Date: 05 October 2009
Catalogue No: RVCD305