Sandy Denny - Like an Old Fashioned Waltz (Music CD)

Release Date: 21 May 2012
Artist: Sandy Denny
£13.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

With Like an Old Fashioned Waltz, Sandy Denny expands on the more polished moments that her previous work, Sandy (1972), had suggested. The tone throughout most of the record is melancholy and personal, with gentle piano, rich strings, and barely a trace of her British folk roots. "Solo," one of her best songs, opens the album with a sense of apprehension and yearning, while cuts such as the beautifully vivid title track, the longing "At the End of the Day," and the evocative closer "No End" nicely follow suit. The Ink Spots covers "Whispering Grass" and "Until the Real Thing Comes Along" break the mood a bit, but it's a testament to the breadth of Denny's talent that she's able to make this sort of jazz-inflected pop work for her. These two songs seem to hint at a new direction that never really materialized in her final years, though an entire album of Ink Spots tunes was actually rumored at one point. As Sandy Denny's last solo work for four years, Like an Old Fashioned Waltz remains an intimate and moving record. ~ Brett Hartenbach
Release Date: 21 May 2012
Artist: Sandy Denny
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Solo
  • 2. Like an Old Washioned Waltz
  • 3. Whispering Grass
  • 4. Friends
  • 5. Carnival
  • 6. Dark the Night
  • 7. At the End of the Day
  • 8. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
  • 9. No Ends
  • 10. Walking the Floor Over You
  • 11. No End (Piano Version/Bonus Track)
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Solo (Live)
  • 2. Until the Real Thing Comes Along (Live)
  • 3. Like an Old Fashioned Waltz (Without Strings Alternate Version)
  • 4. Whispering Grass (Demo)
  • 5. Friends (Without Strings Alternate Version)
  • 6. Dark the Night (Alternate Take)
  • 7. At the End of the Day (Without Strings Alternate Version)
  • 8. No End (Without Strings Alternate Version)
  • 9. Solo (Live)
  • 10. Like and Old Fashioned Waltz (Live)
  • 11. Who Knows Where the Time Goes? (Live)
  • 12. Whispering Grass (Live)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 3700288