Sly & The Family Stone - Essential Sly & The Family Stone [Sony] (Music CD)

Release Date: 18 July 2011
£6.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The Essential Sly & the Family Stone does what a double-CD best-of/career overview should do: it packs a lot of career highlights into a two-disc set for listeners who want more than the basic greatest hits, but don't want every last album. Of course, all of those greatest hits are here, including a few from 1970 that didn't make it onto album releases at the time. As you'd expect, the fattest slice comes from Sly & the Family Stone's late-'60s/early-'70s peak: in fact, most of the tracks from the Stand! and There's a Riot Goin' On albums are here. The fun extras come in the not-too-well-known tracks from pre-Stand! albums and Fresh (which is actually amply represented, with six cuts). This doesn't quite deserve the highest rating, as the post-There's a Riot Goin' On material doesn't keep up the momentum of the rest of the set. Small Talk and Sly Stone's 1975 solo effort, High on You, are wisely lightly plucked, though at least the hits from those albums are the three cuts selected. This deserves better annotation than the cursory liner notes, but otherwise it's an excellent summary of a major rock and soul band. ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 18 July 2011

1. Underdog
2. I Cannot Make It
3. Dance to the Music
4. Are You Ready?
5. Fun
6. M'Lady
7. Life
8. Love City
9. Stand!
10. Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey
11. I Want to Take You Higher
12. Somebody's Watching You
13. Sing a Simple Song
14. Everyday People
15. You Can Make It if You Try
16. Hot Fun in the Summertime
17. Everybody Is a Star
18. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)
19. Family Affair
20. Luv 'n' Haight
21. Poet
22. (You Caught Me) Smilin'
23. Runnin' Away
24. Brave & Strong
25. Just like a Baby
26. Thank You for Talkin' to Me, Africa
27. In Time
28. If You Want Me to Stay
29. Frisky
30. Skin I'm In
31. Babies Makin' Babies
32. If It Were Left up to Me
33. Time for Livin'
34. Loose Booty
35. I Get High on You

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88697930192