Soundtrack - South Pacific [Original Broadway Cast Recording] (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 April 2012
Artist: Soundtrack
£3.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II's fourth musical, South Pacific, was based on several stories in James A. Michener's book Tales of the South Pacific, specifically two that dealt with wartime romances complicated by racial issues. Lyricist and co-librettist Hammerstein explored the relationship between an older French planter with two young half-Polynesian children and a young American nurse, and between an American lieutenant and a native girl. The cultural contrasts were supported by musical ones: The score veered between lush, operatic ballads ("Some Enchanted Evening," "This Nearly Was Mine") and earthy comedic numbers ("There Is Nothin' Like a Dame," "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair").
The story also allowed Rodgers & Hammerstein to portray the rough-edged, lusty character of U.S. servicemen and to present music with an exotic flavor ("Bali Ha'i"). The result was a massive hit. Opening on Broadway April 7, 1949, South Pacific ran 1,925 performances, longer than any musical before it except Rodgers & Hammerstein's Oklahoma! The score was even more popular, if possible. At a time when many different record companies might put out their own covers of a popular song, "Some Enchanted Evening" was a Top Ten hit for no less than six artists, with Perry Como's version hitting number one. Margaret Whiting beat out three chart competitors for the top version of "A Wonderful Guy." But it was the original Broadway cast album that was the real blockbuster. Released at a time when record formats were changing, it came out on 78s, EPs, and an early 12" LP, and became the longest running number one hit in history. ~ William Ruhlmann
Release Date: 16 April 2012
Artist: Soundtrack

1. Act 1. Overture
2. Act 1. Dites-moi - Luna, Barbara
3. Act 1. A Cockeyed Optimist - Martin, Mary
4. Act 1. Twin Soliloquies - Martin, Mary
5. Act 1. Some Enchanted Evening - Pinza, Emil
6. Act 1. Bloody Mary
7. Act 1. There Is Nothin' Like a Dame - McCormick, Myron
8. Act 1. Bali Ha'i - Hall, Juanita
9. Act 1. I'm Gonna Wash that Man right outa My Hair - Martin, Mary
10. Act 1. A Wonderful Guy - Martin, Mary
11. Act 1. Younger than Springtime - Tabbert, Billy
12. Act 2. Happy Talk - Hall, Juanita
13. Act 2. Honey Bun - Martin, Mary
14. Act 2. You've Got to be Carefully Taught - Tabbert, Billy
15. Act 2. This Nearly Was Mine - Pinza, Emil
16. Act 2. Finale. Dites-moi (Reprise) - Martin, Mary
17. Loneliness of Evening - Martin, Mary
18. My Girl Back Home - Martin, Mary
19. Bali Ha'i - Pinza, Emil
20. Symphonic Scenario for Concert Orchestra - Kostelanetz, Andre

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88697499192