Strapping Young Lad - City (Limited MFTM 2013 Edition) (Music CD)

Release Date: 31 December 2012
£7.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

A sense of humor is something that very few artists in underground metal possess -- and that's precisely why Canadian Devin Townsend and his wall-of-noise industrial-thrash outfit Strapping Young Lad stand out amongst the melee. City is a fine example of Townsend's metal-mad scientist approach (dubbed "Devy metal" by affectionate followers): An absolutely manic cyber-grind propelled by the elephant stampede kicked up by drummer extraordinaire Gene Hoglan (ex-Death, Dark Angel), thickened by frenzied, nigh out of control guitar riffs and existing in a cloudy electro-haze of pulverized circuit boards crushed to dust, shot into the atmosphere, and breathed in by all involved parties. So this album's predecessor, Heavy as a Really Heavy Thing, was appropriately titled, although City is a smidgen more focused, mature, and, yes, heavy, although Townsend's subsequent solo projects, Ocean Machine, Infinity, Physicist, and Terria, are less overtly metallic, more fully realized, prog-influenced, and ambitious. What makes Strapping Young Lad most compelling isn't the band's capacity for schizoid arrangements, but rather Townsend's realization that the over the top clichés of the metal genre -- which he robustly embraces with a maniacal grin -- are innately absurd. So he trots out irony-packed tunes such as "Oh My Fucking God," "All Hail the New Flesh," and "AAA" with such ridiculous bombast and bizarre, borderline non sequitur lyrics (a quick sample: "Devy in the corner of his teen year/Born to run away/Children in the middle with the village idiot/So he never made the potty grade" from "AAA"), all used to skewer the inherent ludicrousness of not just metal, but life in general. On the surface, City is a noisy excuse to put yourself in a neck brace, but closer inspection will reveal Townsend's mentally depraved genius, his mind weighted down with, um, really heavy things. [A Deluxe Reissue from Century Media was released in 2007.]~ John Serba
Release Date: 31 December 2012
  • Disk 1
  • 1. Velvet Kevorkian
  • 2. All Hail the New Flesh
  • 3. Oh My Fucking God
  • 4. Detox
  • 5. Home Nucleonics
  • 6. AAA
  • 7. Underneath the Waves
  • 8. Room 429
  • 9. Spirituality
  • 10. Centipede (Japanese Bonus Track)
  • 11. Home Nucleonics ('96 Demo)
  • 12. Hedroid (Gunt Demo)
  • 13. Detox ('96 Demo)
  • 14. AAA ('96 Demo)
  • Disk 2
  • 1. Dire (Intro)
  • 2. Consequence
  • 3. Relentless
  • 4. Rape Song
  • 5. Home Nucleonics
  • 6. S.Y.L.
  • 7. In the Rainy Season
  • 8. Devour
  • 9. Aftermath
  • 10. Oh My Fucking God
  • 11. Force Fed
  • 12. Detox
  • 13. All Hail the New Flesh
  • 14. Far Beyond Metal

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 9982940