Terence Blanchard - Red Tails [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Original Soundtrack/Film Score) (Music CD)

Release Date: 04 June 2012
£10.99 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The score for Anthony Hemingway's film Red Tails is the 33rd by trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard. The music was performed by the FILMharmonic Orchestra and Choir in Prague, under the direction of Adam Klemens. The orchestration, done by Blanchard in collaboration with Howard Drossin, is large in scale, expansive, and dramatic. The trumpeter also appears here, along with percussionist Kendrick Scott and pianist Fabian Almazan. Given that the film is a WWII-era drama about the Tuskegee Airmen, the music is surprisingly modern; it's a combination of action film textures and dynamics, classical extravagances, and choral overtones in its cues. The "Opening Titles" theme greets even the most ardent Blanchard fans with shock: with blazing heavy metal guitars, pulsing synths and sequencers, nearly bombastic brass, and electronic percussion exploding into the fore. These notions are expanded upon continually, in "The Train," "Lightning in Trouble," and numerous other cues. The rumbling drums, transcendent vocal choruses, horns, strings, and synths give the militaristic bent of the film's subject matter weight. There are more atmospheric cues here though they are at a minimum; while they provide dynamic relief, they heighten the tension even further -- check "Junior's Prison" and "Paper Plane." There is great magisterial content here, too, as evidenced by "Mission Orders/Stance Berlin." Blanchard's task -- to provide a big-budget Hollywood film with a score worthy of its subject -- succeeds. It's obvious he's spent a great deal of time listening to Wagner and Strauss, as well as to German electronic outfits and Hans Zimmer, and has integrated them to reflect his own signature -- in "Attack from Above," he quotes from his score for A Tale of God's Will. Tacked on to the end of Blanchard's score are a few period pieces to make the soundtrack complete. These include the Andrews Sisters' "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy" and the Ink Spots' "Bless You." Thankfully, you can hit the stop button right after the beauty and grandeur of the "End Credits/America the Beautiful," performed by the trumpeter with percussionist Kendrick Scott and pianist Almazan fronting the orchestra. This is Blanchard's most unusual and populist score by Hollywood standards; that said, it's a complete gas to listen to. ~ Thom Jurek
Release Date: 04 June 2012

1. Opening Titles
2. The The Train
3. The The Church
4. Visit Sofia
5. Operation Shingle
6. Lightning in Trouble
7. German Airfield
8. Victory Rolls
9. Junior Medical / Luntz Screening
10. Lightning Jail
11. Bomber Briefing
12. Takeoff
13. Waiting for Bombers
14. Deacon Damaged
15. German Destroyer
16. Deacon's Crash
17. Junior Prison
18. The The Proposal
19. Junior Escapes
20. Luntz Berlin
21. Paper Plane
22. Mission Orders / Stance Berlin
23. Maurice Killed
24. Attack from Above
25. Pretty Boy Killed
26. Lightning is Hit
27. Lightning's Gone
28. End Credits / America the Beautiful
29. It's Been A Long, Long Time - James, Harry & His Orchestra
30. Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy - Andrews Sisters
31. Blue Skies - Sullivan, Maxine
32. Bless You - Ink Spots

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 88691943112