Texas Tornados - Live from Austin TX (Live Recording/+DVD)

Release Date: 04 June 2012
£15.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

It's hard to imagine a band that was more perfectly suited for Austin, TX, than the Texas Tornados. Never mind the fact that two of the city's favorite sons, Doug Sahm and Augie Meyers, were members (and that the other key members, Freddy Fender and Flaco Jimenez, were equally beloved throughout the Lone Star State) -- in a city with as voracious and omnivorous an appetite for music as Austin, a band that could play rock, blues, country, norteño, swing, boogie, and on occasion all of them at once could only be regarded as a blessing, and when the Texas Tornados appeared on the great PBS music series Austin City Limits for a Fall 1990 taping, a wildly enthusiastic audience turned out to see the not yet year-old band. Live from Austin, TX preserves the full, unedited 75-minute set the Tornados played that evening, and the band is on fire from start to finish. What was special about the Tornados wasn't just that they could play Jimmy Reed blues, hard country weepers, Farfisa-fueled garage rock, and Mexican folk tunes within the course of a set, but that they played them all with the same fire and passion, and made them sound like they all belonged on the same sonic menu. For an hour and a quarter, you get to hear the Texas Tornados do just that for an audience who were obviously loving what they were hearing, and that makes this disc a wonderful posthumous tribute to the genre-shattering joy they made their bread and butter. ~ Mark Deming
Release Date: 04 June 2012

1. Soy De San Luis
2. A Man Can Cry
3. (Hey Baby) Que Paso
4. Laredo Rose
5. Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio
6. Cancion Mixteca
7. Dinero
8. Mathilda
9. Adios Mexico
10. She Never Spoke Spanish To Me
11. Only One
12. Mendocino
13. Wasted Boys & Wasted Nights
14. Baby What You Want Me To Do
15. If That's What You're Thinking
16. Who Were You Thinkin' of
17. Before the Next Teardrop Falls
18. She's About a Mover
19. 96 Tears
20. Soy De San Luis
21. A Man Can Cry
22. (Hey Baby) Que Paso
23. Laredo Rose
24. Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio
25. Cancion Mixteca
26. Dinero
27. Mathilda
28. Adios Mexico
29. She Never Spoke Spanish To Me
30. Only One
31. Mendocino
32. Wasted Boys & Wasted Nights
33. Baby What You Want Me To Do
34. If That's What You're Thinking
35. Who Were You Thinkin' of
36. Before the Next Teardrop Falls
37. She's About a Mover
38. 96 Tears

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: NW6243