The Beach Boys - Shut Down, Vol. 2 (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 September 2012
£10.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Another erratic early album from the Beach Boys; few other rock LPs have such a wide gap between the best and worst material. On the good side, you have absolute classics in the Chuck Berry-ish "Fun, Fun, Fun" and the superb "Don't Worry Baby," one of the most advanced pop productions of 1964 with its breathtaking harmonies and unusual lyric. "The Warmth of the Sun" is one of the most melodic (and melancholic) ballads they ever recorded, and "Why Do Fools Fall in Love" is one of their best oldies covers. Yet the rest reduces the oceanic scale of the classics to dishwater, whether they're throwaway hot rod tunes and instrumentals, innocuous high-school romantic ditties, or a soulless cover of "Louie Louie." When this album hit the racks in early 1964, the Beatles were proving that you could make LPs that were all killer, no filler; the Beach Boys would soon be forced to up their ante. [Surfer Girl/Shut Down, Vol. 2, a Capitol two-fer CD, combines this and Surfer Girl onto one disc, adding the 45 version of "Fun, Fun, Fun," a German version of "In My Room," and the previously unreleased Brian Wilson composition "I Do."] ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 24 September 2012

1. Fun, Fun, Fun (Mono)
2. Don't Worry Baby (Mono)
3. In the Parkin' Lot (Mono)
4. "Cassius" Love Vs. "Sonny" Wilson (Mono)
5. The The Warmth of the Sun (Mono)
6. This Car of Mine (Mono)
7. Why Do Fools Fall in Love (Mono)
8. Pom Pom Play Girl (Mono)
9. Keep an Eye On Summer (Mono)
10. Shut Down, Part II (Mono)
11. Louie Louie (Mono)
12. Denny's Drums (Mono)
13. Fun, Fun, Fun (Stereo)
14. Don't Worry Baby (Stereo)
15. In the Parkin' Lot (Stereo)
16. "Cassius" Love Vs. "Sonny" Wilson (Stereo)
17. The Warmth of the Sun (Stereo)
18. This Car of Mine (Stereo)
19. Why Do Fools Fall in Love (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
20. Pom Pom Play Girl (Stereo)
21. Keep an Eye On Summer (Stereo)
22. Shut Down, Part II (Stereo)
23. Louie Louie (Stereo)
24. Denny's Drums (Mono)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 4044272