The Beach Boys - Surfer Girl (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 September 2012
£10.69 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Capitol pushed the Beach Boys for too much material in too short a time for the group to maintain as much quality control as would have been desirable. Consequently, most of their pre-1965 albums contain a high degree of filler, and thus stack up poorly next to those of such contemporaries as the Beatles, who were able to maintain high standards on almost all of their tracks. Surfer Girl does have some great tunes, including the title song, the hot rod ditty "Little Deuce Coupe," and "Catch a Wave" (which could have been a substantial hit single on its own merits). Most significant of all is the gorgeous ballad "In My Room," which anticipated future Beach Boys releases both in its sophisticated production (strings, organ, dense harmonies) and its personal, solipsistic lyrics. The rest is surprisingly mediocre filler, especially as at this point they were restricting their lyrical themes to beach culture almost exclusively; "Your Summer Dream," with its unusual harmonies, is about the most interesting of the obscure tracks. If you're not a dedicated Beach Boys fan, though, you should pass, as you can find the first-rate tracks on best-of anthologies. [Surfer Girl/Shut Down, Vol. 2, a Capitol two-fer CD, combines this and Shut Down, Vol. 2 onto one disc, adding the 45 version of "Fun, Fun, Fun," a German version of "In My Room," and the previously unreleased Brian Wilson composition "I Do."] ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 24 September 2012

1. Surfer Girl (Mono)
2. Catch a Wave (Mono)
3. The Surfer Moon (Mono)
4. South Bay Surfer (Mono)
5. The Rocking Surfer (Mono)
6. Little Deuce Coupe (Mono)
7. In My Room (Mono)
8. Hawaii (Mono)
9. Surfer's Rule (Mono)
10. Our Car Club (Mono)
11. Your Summer Dream (Mono)
12. Boogie Woodie (Mono)
13. Surfer Girl (Stereo)
14. Catch a Wave (Stereo)
15. The Surfer Moon (Stereo)
16. South Bay Surfer (Stereo)
17. Rocking Surfer (Stereo)
18. Little Deuce Coupe (Stereo)
19. In My Room (Stereo)
20. Hawaii (Stereo)
21. Surfer's Rule (Stereo)
22. Our Car Club (Stereo)
23. Your Summer Dream (Stereo)
24. Boogie Woodie (Stereo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 4044352