The Beach Boys - Today! (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 September 2012
£5.39 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Brian Wilson's retirement from performing to concentrate on studio recording and production reaped immediate dividends with Today!, the first Beach Boys album that is strong almost from start to finish. "Dance, Dance, Dance" and "Do You Wanna Dance" were upbeat hits with Spector-influenced arrangements, but Wilson began to deal with more sophisticated themes on another smash 45, "When I Grow Up," on which these eternal teenagers looked forward to the advancing years with fear and uncertainty. Surf/hot rod/beach themes were permanently retired in favor of late-adolescent, early-adult romance on this album, which included such decent outings in this vein as "She Knows Me Too Well," "Kiss Me Baby," and "In the Back of My Mind." The true gem is "Please Let Me Wonder," one of the group's most delicate mid-'60s works, with heartbreaking melodies and harmonies. Be aware that the version of "Help Me, Rhonda" found here is an inferior, earlier, and slower rendition; the familiar hit single take was included on their next album, Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!). [Today!/Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!), a Capitol two-fer CD, combines this and Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) onto one disc, adding alternate takes of "Dance, Dance, Dance," "I'm So Young," and "Let Him Run Wild," as well as a previously unreleased studio version of "Graduation Day." Most significantly, it also adds the non-LP single from late 1965, "The Little Girl I Once Knew," which looked forward to Pet Sounds in its studio experimentation and lyrical themes.] ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 24 September 2012

1. Do You Wanna Dance? (Mono)
2. Good to My Baby (Mono)
3. Don't Hurt My Little Sister (Mono)
4. When I Grow Up (To Be a Man) (Mono)
5. Help Me, Rhonda (Mono)
6. Dance, Dance, Dance (Mono)
7. Please Let Me Wonder (Mono)
8. I'm So Young (Mono)
9. Kiss Me, Baby (Mono)
10. She Knows Me Too Well (Mono)
11. In the Back of My Mind (Mono)
12. Bull Session With "Big Daddy" (Mono)
13. Do You Wanna Dance? (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
14. Good to My Baby (Stereo)
15. Don't Hurt My Little Sister (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
16. When I Grow Up (To Be a Man) (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
17. Help Me, Rhonda (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
18. Dance, Dance, Dance (Stereo)
19. Please Let Me Wonder (Stereo)
20. I'm So Young (Stereo)
21. Kiss Me, Baby (Stereo Mix/Remix)
22. She Knows Me Too Well (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
23. In the Back of My Mind (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
24. Bull Session With "Big Daddy" (Stereo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 4044372