The Beach Boys - Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) (Music CD)

Release Date: 24 September 2012
£8.99 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) was a bit of a regression from the success of Today!, lapsing back into that distressing division between first-rate cuts and lightweight also-rans that characterized their pre-1965 albums. The difference is that the very best tracks were operating on a more sophisticated level than the 1962-1964 classics. "Help Me, Rhonda" was a number one single and would be their last Top 40 exercise in sheer fun for a while. More impressive was "California Girls," with its symphonic arrangement, glorious harmonies, and archetypal statement of Californian lifestyle. On the other hand, subpar efforts like "Amusement Park U.S.A." and "Salt Lake City," throwbacks to the empty-headed summer filler of previous days, will necessitate that the CD remote button remains close at hand. The answer song "The Girl From New York City" and the cover "Then I Kissed Her" are well done but don't break new ground. Yet a couple of cuts are among their most essential LP-only efforts. "Let Him Run Wild" is a soulful ballad with a great Brian Wilson falsetto vocal. "Girl Don't Tell Me," with its gorgeous melody, fine lead vocal debut from Carl Wilson, and subtle depiction of romantic rejection and disappointment, may be the best obscure pre-Pet Sounds Beach Boys track. [Today!/Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!), a Capitol two-fer CD, combines this and Today! onto one disc, adding alternate takes of "Dance, Dance, Dance," "I'm So Young," and "Let Him Run Wild," as well as a previously unreleased studio version of "Graduation Day." Most significantly, it also adds the non-LP single from late 1965, "The Little Girl I Once Knew," which looked forward to Pet Sounds in its studio experimentation and lyrical themes.] ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 24 September 2012

1. The The Girl from New York City (Mono)
2. Amusement Parks U.S.A. (Mono)
3. Then I Kissed Her (Mono)
4. Salt Lake City (Mono)
5. Girl Don't Tell Me (Mono)
6. Help Me, Rhonda (Mono)
7. California Girls (Mono)
8. Let Him Run Wild (Mono)
9. You're So Good to Me (Mono)
10. Summer Means New Love (Mono)
11. I'm Bugged At My Ol' Man (Mono)
12. And Your Dream Comes True (Mono)
13. The Girl from New York City (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
14. Amusement Parks U.S.A. (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
15. Then I Kissed Her (Stereo)
16. Salt Lake City (Stereo)
17. Girl Don't Tell Me (2012 Stereo Extraction Mix/Remix)
18. Help Me, Rhonda (2012 Stereo Extraction Mix/Remix)
19. California Girls (Stereo)
20. Let Him Run Wild (Stereo)
21. You're So Good to Me (Stereo)
22. Summer Means New Love (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
23. I'm Bugged At My Ol' Man (2012 Stereo Mix/Remix)
24. And Your Dream Comes True (Stereo)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 4044332