The Phoenix and the Carpet 1976: Complete Series

Release Date: 15 June 2019 | Certificate: Universal, suitable for all
£9.99 includes FREE UK Postage

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Four children discover a strange egg hidden in an old Persian carpet in this classic adaptation of E. Nesbit's acclaimed children s story, part of a trilogy of novels that started with Five Children and It. The 8 part drama was first broadcast on the BBC in 1976. A family buys an old carpet from a junkshop in Edwardian London, which when unrolled reveals a large shiny egg. One of the boys accidently knocks the egg into the fire. A charming talking Phoenix emerges and he has the power to grant their wishes. With the magic carpet now laid out in their playroom, their fantastic adventures are about to begin. The children soon find themselves transported to distant lands and faraway places, including a tropical desert island. Closer to home they take the Phoenix on a tour of London where a surprise awaits; and a family trip to the theatre has unexpected results!
Release Date: 15 June 2019
Certificate: U - Universal - Suitable for all
SKU: 188025