Various Artists - 5 (Five Years Of Hyperdub) (Music CD)

Release Date: 05 October 2009
£10.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Not to slight other dubstep-rooted labels productive from 2005 through 2009--Tectonic, Deep Medi, Hessle Audio--but this half-new/half-retrospective set supplies all the evidence necessary in determining the form's supreme source. Released to acknowledge the fifth anniversary of Kode9's Hyperdub, these two discs, assembled in the wake of 30-plus 12" releases and three albums, should be the starting point for anyone late to the party. There is a slight catch, though: only a fraction of the contents is truly dubstep. In short, dubstep extends and mutates dub, drum'n'bass, U.K. garage, and grime in various permutations. That the first disc contains the new material speaks to the label's desire to continue pushing. It does not quite surpass the second disc of past highlights, yet it's nothing short of generous. A handful of comrades who hadn't previously appeared on the label, like Flying Lotus and Martyn, make appearances; perhaps unsurprisingly, it's the Hyperdub artists who deliver the most moving tracks. King Midas Sound's "Meltdown" is psych ward lovers rock. On "Time Patrol," Kode9 places crisp, tightly coiled percussive friction and jabbing strings beneath the Space Ape and Cha Cha's urgently whispered threats/come-ons. Ikonika's "Sahara Michael," enhanced with sub bass and swarming strings, is one of the most complex productions, stunningly layered with drums that switch between a swaying lurch and a stomp as acidic bleeps flutter and gurgle. The second disc features most of the label's essentials, including Darkstar's "Need You," Joker's "Digidesign," Samiyam's "Return," and the Rustie mix of Zomby's "Spliff Dub," all of which are unique and equally representative of Hyperdub.
Release Date: 05 October 2009

1. Meltdown - King Midas Sound
2. Time Patrol - Kode 9 & The Spaceape/ChaCha
3. Aidy's Girl's A Computer - Darkstar
4. Roller Skates - Samiyam
5. Disco Balls - Flying Lotus
6. Purple Smoke - Black Chow
7. Fostercare - Burial
8. Weekend Fly - Cooly G
9. Tarantula - Zomby
10. Mega Drive Generation - Martyn
11. Turn Away - LV & Dandelion
12. Level Nine - Mala
13. Shake It - LD
14. Bleeps From Outer Space - Quarta 330
15. Sahara Michael - Ikonika
16. Stash - Joker & Ginz
17. 9 Samurai - Kode 9
18. South London Boroughs - Burial
19. Bad - Kode 9 & LD
20. Money Honey (remix) - Bug & Warrior Queen
21. Globetrotting - LV & Errol Bellot
22. Distant Light - Burial
23. Ghost Town - Kode 9 & Spaceape
24. Fukkaz - Kode 9 & Spaceape
25. Return - Samiyam
26. Need You - Darkstar
27. Spliff Dub (Rustie remix) - Zomby
28. Please - Ikonika
29. Kaliko - Zomby
30. You Don't Know What Love Is - 2000F & J Kamata
31. Digidesign - Joker
32. 9 Samurai (Quarta 300 remix) - Kode 9

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: HBCD005