Various Artists - Arkansas Shout (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 September 2009
£12.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This is an intriguing CD for it features all of the music that the American Record Corporation (ARC) recorded during a field trip to Hot Springs Arkansas in March 1937 other than some gospel performers. The performances (originally released on the Vocalion, Melotone, and Perfect labels) range from big band swing to Western swing and blues. The 28 selections on this generous CD include cuts by the Range Riders (a solid Western swing band with a weak saxophonist), Fats Smith's Rhythm Kings, Three Fifteen & His Squares, the Original Yellowjackets, trumpeter Ike Ragon's Orchestra, Albert Gale's Orchestra, Tommy Settles, and Jazzbo Tommy's Lowlanders. Not all of the selections are of equal quality and some of the styles and songs were already several years behind the times, but overall the music is quite enjoyable. Best are the six selections from the Original Yellowjackets, an excellent no-name nine-piece group that could have gone much further if they had moved up North. Serious early jazz collectors will definitely want this CD. ~ Scott Yanow
Release Date: 10 September 2009
  • 1. The Range Riders' Stomp - Range Riders
  • 2. No Foolin' - Range Riders
  • 3. Who Calls You Sweet Mama Now? - Range Riders
  • 4. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) - Range Riders
  • 5. How Come You Do Me Like You Do? - Range Riders
  • 6. Five Foot Two, Eyes of Blue - Range Riders
  • 7. If I Had You in My Arms
  • 8. Music Makes Me Feel That Way
  • 9. Saturday Night on Texas Avenue - Three Fifteen and His Squares
  • 10. Drop My Stuff
  • 11. Mollie Mae Blues
  • 12. Three Fifteen Blues
  • 13. Swinging at the Chat and Chew - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 14. Yellow Jackets Get Together - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 15. Cross Street Swing - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 16. Blue Drag - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 17. Business After Midnight - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 18. The Hour of Parting - Original Yellow Jackets
  • 19. Truckin' on the Old Camp Ground
  • 20. Harlem Blues
  • 21. Slap That Bass
  • 22. Maple Leaf Rag
  • 23. Since My Best Gal Turned Me Down
  • 24. Horses and Numbers
  • 25. Pearlie Mae Blues - Lowe, Ezekiel
  • 26. Don't Want No More - Lowe, Ezekiel
  • 27. You Don't Mean No Good
  • 28. Blaze Face Cow

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: BDW8025