Various Artists - Ghana Special - Modern Highlife (Afro-Sounds Ghanaian Blues 1968-1981) (Music CD)

Release Date: 02 November 2009
£11.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

The U.K. label Soundway Records has vaulted itself to the head of the pack within the narrow field of African anthologies. They specialize in hard '60s and '70s funk, disco, and rock from West Africa, as heard on their Nigeria Special series as well as the earlier AFRO BABY and GHANA SOUNDZ sets, not to mention a disc devoted to the best-of Nigerian singer-guitarist Sir Victor Uwaifo. This volume, a two-CD set of funk and rock from Ghana all recorded between the late '60s and early '80s, is a churning sea of polyrhythms, chanted vocals, thick, distorted organ sounds, blaring horns, and scorching guitar that are equal parts James Brown and No Wave. A few songs ("Them Go Talk Of You," "I Go Die for You," "You Monopolize Me," "You Can Go") are sung in English, but most of the others will be incomprehensible to a U.S. listener -- and it won't matter one bit, because the rhythms and melodies are so overpowering and forceful that the music functions as pure limbic imperative.
Release Date: 02 November 2009

1. Kai Wawa
2. Owuo Adaadaa Me
3. Din Ya Sugri
4. Aaya Lolo
5. Ohiani Sua Efir
6. Bofoo Beye Abowa Den
7. Nya Asem Hwe
8. Edinya Benya
9. Hwehwe Mu Yi Mpena
10. Sei Nazo
11. I Go Die For You
12. Obi Agye Me Dofo
13. Twer Nyame
14. Mi Nsumoo Bo Donn
15. Odo Mmera
16. You Monopolise Me
17. Wompe Masem
18. Akoko Ba
19. Akampanye
20. Enuanom Adofo
21. Bukom
22. You Can Go
23. Kyenkyen Bi Adi M'awu
24. Dr. Solutsu
25. Tamale
26. Omusus Da Fe M'musu
27. Yahyia Mu
28. Noble Kings
29. Bindiga
30. Boombaya
31. Owuo
32. Them Go Talk of You
33. Sisi Mbon

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: SNDWCD016