Various Artists - Musica Negra in the Americas (Aruba, Bonaire, Cura) (Music CD)

Release Date: 11 April 2012
£9.09 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This volume of the Musica Negra in the Americas series explores the former Spanish (then Dutch) colonies of Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao, the so-called "ABC Islands," with 17 tracks drawn from local independent labels. These are not archival field recordings but commercial releases that range from vocal groups to percussion ensembles, and they display a fascinating array of styles and influences, a Creole mix of West African, French, Spanish, Dutch, East Indian, and Cuban motifs. The sound ranges from decent on most tracks to only adequate on other tracks, but the overall feel of this anthology is so interesting that it rises above any transfer defects. ~ Steve Leggett
Release Date: 11 April 2012

1. Gangan (Grandma)
2. Pieu Di Galiña (Lice on the Chicken)
3. Ta Mi Bida (It's My Life)
4. Bendishon Disfrasá (Blessing in Disguise) - Behilia, Oswin Chin
5. T'Asina Ta Bida (That's Life)
6. Mi Sa Ta Ken Mi Ta (I Know Who I Am)
7. Un Siglo Nobo (A New Century)
8. Biba Felis (A Joyful Life)
9. Nan a Lagami Afó (They're Shutting Me Out)
10. Salmou Ku Pekele (Salmon With Pickled Herring) - Dap, Boy
11. Fiesta Di Piskadó (Feast of the Fishermen) - Calister, Izaline
12. Ki Dushi Isla (Such a Far Isle) - Sound Circle
13. Polin Tin Shete Buraco (Polin Has Seven Holes)
14. Baila Bai (Let's Dance)
15. Mi Tumba (My Tumba)
16. Remailo
17. Nonze Su Kantika Di Tambú (Noze Sings the Tambú)

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 20112