Various Artists - Nuggets (Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era 1965-1968) (Music CD)

Release Date: 26 November 2012
£5.89 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

Compiled by rock critic and future Patti Smith Group guitarist Lenny Kaye, 1972's Nuggets was the anthology responsible for reviving interest in mid-'60s American garage rock. After the proliferation of specialized volumes with the Nuggets title by reissue label Rhino, this four-CD box set is intended as the ideal summation/expansion of the Nuggets concept. The first CD reproduces, track-by-track, the original 27-song Nuggets, while the other three CDs add what may be considered 91 bonus tracks, from the biggest-selling garage hits ("Louie Louie," "Wooly Bully") to some cuts that only devout '60s specialists will know. All important permutations of the mid-'60s garage style are present: primitive fuzz, folk-rock, horn rock, psychedelic dementia, protest rock, etc. Major heroes the Music Machine, the Seeds, the Shadows of Knight, the Electric Prunes, the Standells, the Sonics, the Chocolate Watch Band, and many others are all represented, often by more than one song. If it's possible to give a five-star rating with reservations, it's tempting to do so here. No one could have possibly satisfied all rabid garage collectors with a mere 118 songs, but that's not really the point here; the object was to provide a wide-ranging box set of '60s garage rock that would entertain, represent the considerable span of garage styles, and be massive -- yet affordable -- for the committed rock fan who nonetheless doesn't want everything. Rhino has succeeded, while also presenting the songs in the best possible quality (in mono), whether from the master tapes or best existing copies. With a 100-page booklet of new liner notes (Kaye's original annotation is also included), it is the best investment possible for those who thirst for more '60s garage rock than is available on the best single-volume compilations, with a track selection geared toward cream-of-the-crop quality and variety rather than narrow collector prejudices. ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 26 November 2012

1. I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night) - Electric Prunes
2. Dirty Water (Single/LP Version) - Standells
3. Night Time - Strangeloves
4. Lies (Single/LP Version) - Knickerbockers
5. Respect - Vagrants
6. A Public Execution - Mouse
7. No Time Like the Right Time - Blues Project
8. Oh Yeah - Shadows of Knight
9. Pushin' Too Hard (Single/LP Version) - Seeds
10. Moulty - Barbarians
11. Don't Look Back - Remains
12. An Invitation to Cry - Magicians
13. Liar, Liar - Castaways
14. You're Gonna Miss Me (Single Version) - Thirteenth Floor Elevators
15. Psychotic Reaction (Single Version) - Count Five
16. Hey Joe (Single Version) - Leaves
17. Romeo & Juliet - Michael & the Messengers
18. Sugar and Spice - Cryan' Shames
19. Baby Please Don't Go - Amboy Dukes
20. Tobacco Road - Blues Magoos
21. Let's Talk About Girls - Chocolate Watchband
22. Sit Down I Think I Love You (Single Version) - Mojo Men
23. Run, Run, Run - Third Rail
24. My World Fell Down - Sagittarius
25. Open My Eyes - Nazz
26. Farmer John (Edit Version) - Premiers
27. It's A-Happening - Magic Mushrooms

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: 8122797112