Various Artists - Out On The Floor (2LP Red Vinyl Set)

Release Date: 23 November 2018
£16.19 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £2.19
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £2.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £4.99
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

The Northern Soul phenomenon can be understood as an underground equivalent of disco. Its progenitor was the Mod movement of the mid-1960s, but this time the teenagers in northern towns created their own fashions (notably high waisted and flared trousers) and would dance the night away in the Wigan Casino (with its sprung dance floor); the Twisted Wheel in Manchester; the Golden Torch in Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent; and the Blackpool Mecca. Out on the Floor also includes a healthy dose of R&B standards which have become familiar sounds on Northern Soul dancefloors across the country. Tracks by The 5 Royales, Ronnie Love, Barbara Dane and Charles Sheffield help to bridge the gap between the upbeat stomping sound of Northern Soul and the more moody sound of R&B.

Disc: 1

1. Out On the Floor - Dobie Gray
2. There's Nothing Else to Say - The Incredibles
3. Exit Loneliness, Enter Love - Tommy Mosley
4. The Duck - Jackie Lee
5. Meet Me at Midnight - Cindy Lynn and The In-Sounds
6. Barefootin' - Robert Parker
7. The Wrong Girl - The Showmen
8. Girl Watcher - The O'Kaysions
9. Love Makes the World Go Round - Deon Jackson
10. Miss Treatment - The Incredibles
11. Catch That Teardrop - The 5 Royales
12. One Love - Jimmy Lewis
13. I've Arrived - Steve Flanagan
14. I'm On My Way - Barbara Dane

Disc: 2

1. The Snake - Al Wilson
2. The Ice-man - Billy Watkins
3. Backfield in Motion - Mel and Tim
4. So in Luv - Othello Robertson
5. My First Lonely Night - Jewel Akens
6. Don't Accuse Me - The Squires
7. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Tormé
8. Chills and Fever - Ronnie Love
9. Cry to Me - Solomon Burke
10. It's Your Voodoo Working - Charles Sheffield
11. I Can't Get Over Losing Your Love - The Incredibles
12. Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman
13. Seven Day Fool - Etta James
14. The in Crowd - Dobie Gray
Release Date: 23 November 2018