Various Artists - Paramount Hot Dance Obscurities Vol.1 (Music CD)

Release Date: 10 September 2009
£12.29 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

This is a collection of extremely rare 78s recorded by the New York Recording Laboratories for release on its Broadway and Paramount labels in the late '20s and centers around banjo player Bill Haid and his various groups, who recorded under a number of monikers including the Black Pirates, the Manhattan Entertainers, the Castle Farm Serenaders, and Bill Haid's Cubs. There are some wonderful pieces here, like the half-paced version of "Slue Foot," but much of it is fairly generic dance music of the time. The sound quality is also a problem, ranging from passable to awful depending on the track, making this archival release of interest to only collectors and historians. ~ Steve Leggett
Release Date: 10 September 2009
  • 1. Blue River
  • 2. Slue Foot - Haid, Bill
  • 3. I'm Walking Between the Raindrops
  • 4. Lonely Little Bluebird - Haid, Bill
  • 5. Blue Grass
  • 6. Hold Everything Here Comes My Girl
  • 7. Picking Cotton
  • 8. When Sweet Susie Goes Stepping By
  • 9. Tin Roof Blues
  • 10. Crazy Rhythm - Haid, Bill
  • 11. Blue Shadows - Haid, Bill
  • 12. Good Girl - Haid, Bill
  • 13. Some of These Days
  • 14. Taint So Honey Taint So
  • 15. A Good Man Is Hard to Find - Haid, Bill
  • 16. Shake It Down - Haid, Bill
  • 17. Weary Weasel - Haid, Bill
  • 18. Chili Blues
  • 19. Tennessee Lazy
  • 20. High up on a Hill Top
  • 21. You Took Advantage of Me
  • 22. My Old Girl's My New Girl Now
  • 23. Roll Up the Carpets
  • 24. Me and the Man in the Moon - Haid, Bill
  • 25. Where the Shy Little Violets Grow
  • 26. My Suppressed Desire

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: BDW8039